- Associated Press - Tuesday, January 14, 2014

All Times EST



Site: La Quinta, Calif.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Courses: PGA West, Arnold Palmer Private Course (6,950 yards, par 72); PGA West, Jack Nicklaus Private Course (6,951 yards, par 72); La Quinta Country Club (7,060 yards, par 72).

Purse: $5.7 million. Winner’s share: $1,026,000.

Television: Golf Channel (Thursday, 3-7 p.m., 7:30-11:30 p.m.; Friday, midnight-4 a.m., 3-7 p.m., 10:30 p.m.-1:30 a.m.; Saturday-Sunday, 3-7 p.m., 10:30 p.m.-1:30 a.m.).

Last year: Brian Gay won his fourth tour title, closing with a 9-under 63 and beating Charles Howell III on the second hole of a playoff. Swedish rookie David Lingmerth was eliminated on the first extra hole.

Last week: Jimmy Walker won the Sony Open in Hawaii for second victory in the tour’s new wraparound season, birdieing three late holes to beat Chris Kirk by a stroke. Walker also won the season-opening Frys.com Open in October.

Notes: Kapalua winner Zach Johnson is the top-ranked player in the field at No. 6. No. 14 Brandt Snedeker, No. 20 Webb Simpson and No. 22 Keegan Bradley are the only others in the top 30 in the field. Phil Mickelson is skipping the tournament to play in Abu Dhabi. … The tournament, long known as the Bob Hope Classic, was shortened from 90 to 72 in 2012. … David Duval shot a 59 on the Palmer Course in the final round of his 1999 victory. … Arnold Palmer won the first event in 1960 and added victories in 1962, ‘68, ‘71 and ‘73. … The final round will be played on the Palmer Course. … Tiger Woods will make his first start of the year next week in the Farmers Insurance Open at Torrey Pines.

Online: http://www.pgatour.com




Story Continues →