Continued from page 2

Television: Golf Channel (Wednesday, 5-8 a.m., noon-2 p.m.; Thursday, 5-8 a.m.; Friday, 4:30-8:30 a.m.; Saturday, 4:30-8:30 a.m., 10:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.).

Last year: England’s Chris Wood won his first European Tour title, closing with an eagle for a one-stroke victory over Sergio Garcia and George Coetzee.

Last week: Spain’s Pablo Larrazabal won Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship, beating Phil Mickelson and Rory McIlroy by a stroke. Mickelson was penalized a stroke in the final round after he double hit a shot playing from brush on the 13th hole. McIlroy was penalized two strokes after the third round for failing to take full relief from a spectator crosswalk.

Notes: PGA champion Jason Dufner is in the field along with Garcia, Henrik Stenson, Luke Donald, Ernie Els, John Daly and Peter Uihlein. Stenson swept the PGA Tour’s FedExCup and European Tour’s Race to Dubai last season. … Darren Clarke is making his 500th European Tour start. … Qatar is on an oil-rich Persian Gulf peninsula off eastern Saudi Arabia. … The Dubai Desert Classic is next week, followed by the Joburg Open.




Next event: Allianz Championship, Feb. 7-9, The Old Course at Broken Sound, Boca Raton, Fla.

Last week: Bernhard Langer won the season-opening Mitsubishi Electric Championship in Hawaii, shooting 66-64-64 for a three-stroke victory.




AUSTRALIAN LADIES PROFESSIONAL GOLF: Women’s New South Wales Open, Friday-Sunday, Oatlands Golf Club, Sydney, Australia. Online: