- Associated Press - Wednesday, July 2, 2014

All Times EDT




Site: Daytona, Florida.

Schedule: Thursday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 4-5:30 p.m., 6:30-8 p.m.); Friday, qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 5-6:30 p.m.); Saturday, race, 7:30 p.m. (TNT, 6:30-11 p.m.).

Track: Daytona International Speedway (tri-oval, 2.5 miles).

Race distance: 400 miles, 160 laps.

Last year: Jimmie Johnson won to become the first driver since Bobby Allison in 1982 to sweep the season races at the track. Tony Stewart was second.

Last week: Brad Keselowski dominated at Kentucky Speedway for his second victory of the season and 12th overall.

Fast facts: Race winners get first priority for the 16-driver Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup as long as they are in the top 30 in the standings and attempted to qualify for every race. Johnson leads the series with three victories. Keselowski, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Carl Edwards, Kevin Harvick and Joey Logano each have two wins, and Jeff Gordon, Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin and Kurt Busch also have won. Gordon leads the standings. … Earnhardt won the season-opening Daytona 500. … Michael Waltrip is driving the No. 66 Toyota. Three of Waltrip’s four Cup victories have come at the track.

Next race: Camping World RV Sales 301, July 13, New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Loudon, New Hampshire.

Online: http://www.nascar.com



Story Continues →