- Associated Press - Wednesday, July 23, 2014

All Times EDT




Site: Indianapolis.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 11:30 a.m.-1 p.m.); Saturday, practice (ESPN2, 9-11 a.m.), qualifying (ESPN, 2-3:30 p.m.); Sunday, race, 1 p.m. (ESPN, noon-4:30 p.m.)

Track: Indianapolis Motor Speedway (oval, 2.5 miles).

Race distance: 400 miles, 160 laps.

Last year: Indiana driver Ryan Newman raced to the last of his 17 Cup victories.

Last race: Brad Keselowski won at New Hampshire on July 13 to complete a Nationwide-Cup weekend sweep.

Fast facts: Race winners get first priority for the 16-driver Chase as long as they are in the top 30 in the standings and attempted to qualify for every race. Keselowski and Jimmie Johnson lead the series with three victories. Dale Earnhardt Jr., Carl Edwards, Kevin Harvick and Joey Logano each have two wins, and Aric Almirola, Jeff Gordon, Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin and Kurt Busch also have won. Gordon leads the standings. … Hendrick Motorsports teammates Johnson and Gordon share the track Cup record with four victories. … Tony Stewart, from Indiana, won the 2005 and 2007 races. … Juan Pablo Montoya, the 2000 Indianapolis 500 winner, is driving for owner Roger Penske in his second NASCAR start of the year. He won the IndyCar event at Pocono this month for his first victory in his return to open-wheel racing. … Danica Patrick made seven starts in the Indy 500, finishing third in 2009.

Next race: GoBowling.com 400, Aug. 3, Pocono Raceway, Long Pond, Pennsylvania.

Online: http://www.nascar.com



Story Continues →