- The Washington Times - Tuesday, June 10, 2014

The IRS said Tuesday it has come up with a taxpayers’ bill of rights — a list of 10 guarantees the tax agency says it will give Americans — including the right to privacy and the right to appeals.

Coming a year after the agency acknowledged it gave intrusive scrutiny to targets tea party groups’ applications for tax-exempt status, the new document appears designed to try to assure taxpayers the agency isn’t unfairly targeting them.

The 10 rights are:

1. The Right to Be Informed

2. The Right to Quality Service

3. The Right to Pay No More than the Correct Amount of Tax

4. The Right to Challenge the IRS’s Position and Be Heard

5. The Right to Appeal an IRS Decision in an Independent Forum

6. The Right to Finality

7. The Right to Privacy

8. The Right to Confidentiality

9. The Right to Retain Representation

10. The Right to a Fair and Just Tax System



Click to Read More

Click to Hide