- Associated Press - Saturday, June 21, 2014

BILOXI, Miss. (AP) - The Clarion-Ledger newspaper in Jackson, Mississippi, received the top writing award from the Louisiana-Mississippi Associated Press Media Editors Saturday, while Nola.comThe Times-Picayune was cited with the top prize for photography.

AP editors from the two states honored the best work of 2013 Saturday at the group’s annual meeting, held in conjunction with the conventions of the Louisiana Press Association and the Mississippi Press Association at the IP Casino Resort and Spa in Biloxi.

The Clarion-Ledger’s Geoff Pender received the Frank Allen Story of the Year Award for reporting that showed Mississippi officials continued to travel extensively at taxpayer expense even as other state budgets were being cut.

The C.P. Liter Award for outstanding photojournalism went to Nola.comThe Times-Picayune’s team of Michael DeMocker, David Grunfeld, Chris Granger, Kathleen Flynn, Brett Duke and Julia Drapkin for coverage of gun-related violence.

For outstanding efforts in sharing news and photos with AP and its members, The Advocate and The Sun Herald were cited with the Mark Twain Award.

The full list of winners in the annual APME contest follows:


General Excellence

1, Staff, The (LSU) Daily Reveille; 2, Staff, The (Louisiana Tech) Tech Talk; 3, Staff, The (Loyola) Maroon.

Layout and Design

1, Erin Hebert, The Daily Reveille; 2, Emily Herrington, The Daily Reveille; 3, Zach Wiley, The Daily Reveille.

Web Site

1, Staff, The Daily Reveille; 2, Staff, The Tech Talk; 3, Staff, The (Southeastern Louisiana University) Lion’s Roar.


1, Sam Winstrom, The Maroon, “Stolen knowledge;” 2, Andrea Gallo, The Daily Reveille, “Reveille 7 clash With Huey Long;” 3, Cody Sexton, The Tech Talk, “Tech XXI: Meet our new mascot and the family who cares for him.”

Story Continues →