- Associated Press - Saturday, June 21, 2014

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas (AP) - Four Texas legislators have been honored by a journalism group for their public service.

The Texas Press Association on Saturday announced the awards for House Speaker Joe Straus of San Antonio, Sen. Rodney Ellis of Houston, Sen. Kevin Eltife of Tyler and Rep. Todd Hunter of Corpus Christi.

The Friend of the First Amendment awards were presented Friday during the Texas Press Association’s summer conference in Corpus Christi.

Jim Moser, CEO of Moser Community Media and head of the association’s legislative advisory committee, praised the lawmakers for their efforts to promote and protect open meetings, open records and government transparency in general.

It’s the second time that Ellis and Hunter received the award.






Click to Read More

Click to Hide