- Associated Press - Monday, June 23, 2014

RIO DE JANEIRO (AP) - It’s Day Two of the in-or-out matches of the World Cup, with five teams competing for two places in the knockout stages.

Group D winds up in the two early fixtures, with Group C following later. Each pair of games is played simultaneously.

The highlight of the early matches is Italy’s game against Uruguay, a contest between two former world champions that will see the winner go through to the second round.

Meanwhile, a Costa Rica side that has already qualified for the last 16 against the odds takes on an England team that has booked its flight home.

There are far more permutations to the later games in Group C. Colombia is certain to advance but its opponents Japan, along with Ivory Coast and Greece who meet in the other match, all still have a chance of qualifying.

Things to watch for Tuesday:

___

NEW FACES

Both coaches are likely to make changes for Costa Rica’s game against England - with Jorge Luis Pinto resting a couple of players and Roy Hodgson giving reserve players a chance.

Pinto says he will make two changes, adding Roy Miller and Randall Brenes, without saying who will drop to the bench. “We’re not going to change the basic structure overnight,” Pinto said. “But we want improve a few things that weren’t working well.”

For England, 20-year-old midfielder Ross Barkley is expected to start along with Southampton duo Adam Lallana and Luke Shaw.

The team’s exit from the tournament isn’t the only bad omen for Hodgson’s men ahead of Tuesday’s game. The match is being played in Belo Horizonte, where England lost 1-0 to the United States in 1950 - still one of the biggest upsets in World Cup history.

Venue: Belo Horizonte. Kickoff 1 p.m. local time (noon in New York, 5 p.m. London, 1 a.m. Tokyo)

___

SUAREZ TO SHINE?

Story Continues →