- Associated Press - Wednesday, June 25, 2014

WASHINGTON (AP) - Composer Carla Bley, saxophonists George Coleman and Charles Lloyd and Chicago jazz club owner Joe Segal are being honored with the nation’s highest award in jazz.

The National Endowment for the Arts announced Wednesday that the four will receive the 2015 NEA Jazz Masters Award. They will be honored in April 2015 at New York’s Lincoln Center. Each musician receives a $25,000 fellowship.

Bley of Willow, New York, is hailed as one of the premier composers of the last 50 years.

Coleman of Jersey City, New Jersey, grew up in Memphis learning to play the blues and toured with B.B. King.

Lloyd of Santa Barbara, California, is honored for his improvisational skills and for fusing jazz with other music.

And Segal has been presenting jazz in Chicago since 1947.

Copyright © 2016 The Washington Times, LLC.

blog comments powered by Disqus


Click to Read More

Click to Hide