Virginia's Department of Motor Vehicles sent cease and desist orders Thursday to two popular ride-share services, warning that they must stop operating in violation of state law or face mounting fines.
The two companies, Uber and Lyft, both operate through mobile apps that allow users to request a ride from part-time drivers who use their personal vehicles to offer unregulated taxi services, the Virginian-Pilot reported.
Both companies were already fined in April. Uber was charged $26,000 and Lyft $9,000 for rides given in Virginia despite warnings that the state doesn't allow the services' business models.
The laws are up for deliberation and possible legislative changes next year could allow the mobile services to operate in the state.
Secretary of Transportation Aubrey Layne said he liked the companies' business models, but until the law changes both services are in violation.
DMV commissioner Richard Holcomb told Uber and Lyft drivers that they should stop offering rides and participate in a state study of the taxi laws, "rather than continue illegal operations in the meantime," the newspaper reported.
© Copyright 2016 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.