Continued from page 1

The N.C. State star fouled out with 27.9 seconds remaining, leaving Ralston Turner to try to rescue the Wolfpack with a desperation 3-point attempt that clanked off the rim as time expired.

“It was definitely tough,” Turner said. “You know, at one point we had the lead, things were going our way, and it was about three minutes to go, we had a 10 point lead, and they started fouling. They just extended the game. It went from that to we just started missing a lot of free throws, a lot of uncharacteristic things started happening.”

Saint Louis, which starts five seniors, advanced to the third round to play either fourth-seeded Louisville or No. 13 Manhattan in a Midwest Region matchup on Saturday.

The Billikens did it despite trailing by as many as 16 and going 12 of 26 from the foul line.

“They got us out of our game … both defensively and offensively,” Saint Louis coach Jim Crews said. “Early in the game Rob hit a couple threes to get us off to a good start, but we started settling for jump shots I thought maybe the first eight minutes of the game, and then we just weren’t getting back (defensively).”

Warren scored at least 20 for the 19th consecutive game. Turner, who finished with 16, hit a jumper and three free throws during a 19-7 spurt that helped the Wolfpack open their biggest lead of the night.

Saint Louis whittled away at its deficit, eventually tying the game at 70 on Jett’s driving layup with 18.8 seconds remaining. But the senior failed to complete a three-point play that would have given the Billikens their first lead since the opening minutes of the game.

It went to overtime when point guard Tyler Lewis was unable to get the ball to Warren and missed an open 17-foot jumper at the buzzer.

In winning, Saint Louis avoided a recent trend that seen No. 5 seeds struggle against No. 12 seeds.

Earlier Thursday, No. 12 seed Harvard took down fifth-seeded Cincinnati in an East Region game played in Spokane, Wash. North Dakota State also knocked off No. 5 Oklahoma in OT as well.

There’s been at least one No. 12 seed winning every season since 2008.

“Our players are heartbroken,” Gottfried said. “But I’m proud of our team, I’m proud of the year we had.”