- - Thursday, March 6, 2014


Turkey’s 1974 invasion of the Republic of Cyprus occurred in two phases. The first of these, on July 20, involved the illegal use of U.S.-supplied arms and equipment in violation of the U.S. Foreign Assistance Act of 1961, the U.N. Charter, the NATO treaty and customary international law.

Turkey occupied about 4 percent of Cyprus following this initial phase. On Aug. 14, 1974, three weeks after the legitimate government of Cyprus was restored, Turkey launched the second phase of its invasion, grabbing an additional 33 percent of the island to expand its occupation to nearly 40 percent of Cyprus‘ sovereign territory, which it continues to illegally occupy nearly 40 years later.

Additionally, the Annan Plan, a U.N. plan for resolving the dispute, was fundamentally flawed. The plan lacked the viability to provide a just and lasting resolution to the division of Cyprus.

It also incorporated unacceptable last-minute demands submitted by Turkey. In democratic fashion, Cypriots rejected the plan in 2004. It was not a solution.



American Hellenic Institute




Click to Read More

Click to Hide