- Associated Press - Saturday, March 8, 2014

HERSHEY, Pa. (AP) - On a night when six wrestlers repeated as PIAA Class AAA champions, Chance Marsteller and Thomas Haines stole the show.

Marsteller, of Kennard-Dale, and Haines, of Solanco, became the 11th and 12th four-time gold-medal winners in Pennsylvania history. Marsteller (166-0) also is the first four-time champion to complete his career without a loss since Cary Kolat (1989-92) and the fourth overall.

Marsteller defeated Kyle Coniker of Pittsburgh Central Catholic 14-2 and proceeded to raise both arms and extend four fingers to a standing ovation.

“I teared up a little bit,” Marsteller said. “Every other state title was just another match, just another day. This was one more memorable because it’s a different feat and it’s my last high school match ever. It was really something else to take in this time.”

Haines handled Pat Finn of Pottsgrove 6-1 and walked off to a similar standing ovation with arms raised and flashing a big smile.

“It’s just amazing. There’s nothing like it,” Haines said. “Everybody in the entire stadium standing up clapping for me. There’s no words to describe it.”

The Marsteller-Haines duo even upstaged Canon McMillan’s Dalton Macri, who knocked off Joe Galasso of Father Judge 7-2 in a battle of defending champions at 145, and Central Dauphin’s Garrett Peppelman, who won his second title at 160 with a 17-7 decision over Ian Shannon of Carlisle.

Devin Brown (37-0) of team champion Franklin Regional (119 points) was the first to repeat. He trimmed Dan Moran of Nazareth 7-6 at 106 pounds.

Spencer Lee followed as Franklin Regional’s second straight champion. Lee ran his freshman season record to 49-0 with a major decision (15-5) over Joe Wheeling of General McClane.

Luke Pletcher of Latrobe won his second straight title in overtime, slipping past Scott Parker of Pennridge 3-1.

Other winners were Dalton Macri, Canon McMillan, 126; freshman Cameron Coy, Penn Trafford, 132, and Pittsburgh Central Catholic’s Vincenzo Joseph, who pinned Franklin Regional’s Michael Kemerer in overtime at 138 to hand Kemerer his third straight silver medal.

Also winning were TC Warner, Cumberland Valley, 152; Zack Zavatsky, Latrobe, 182; Jan Johnson, Governor Mifflin, 195, and Michael Boykin, Coatesville, 220.

Three-time champion Jason Nolf of Kittanning shared the Class AA spotlight with team champion Bethlehem Catholic and defending heavyweight champion Sam Breese of Lakeview.

Nolf pinned three of his four tournament opponents to earn his third gold medal in four seasons. He pinned Billy Barnes of Williamson in 1:48 in the finals.

Bethlehem Catholic’s 138.5 team points set a PIAA record for most points scored in either classification. The Golden Hawks also crowned three individual champions: Jake Riegel (29-7) at 106, Luke Karam (40-2) at 113 and senior Zeke Moisey (44-0) won his first gold at 126 after two previous silver-medal efforts. The Golden Hawks’ fourth finalist, Jose Ortiz at 182, lost in the finals.

Story Continues →