- Associated Press - Thursday, May 1, 2014

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Gov. Mike Beebe has appointed three special justices to consider court cases regarding judges and judicial candidates whose law licenses were suspended for late payment of annual dues.

The cases are pending with the Arkansas Supreme Court. Several lawsuits allege that candidates whose licenses were suspended for late payment of bar dues are ineligible for the ballot. State law says that a candidate must be a licensed attorney for six years before becoming eligible for a judgeship.

Supreme Court Justices Paul Danielson, Karen Baker and Courtney Goodson have recused themselves from the four cases involving the issue.

The governor announced Thursday that Raymond Abramson of Holly Grove, Woody Bassett of Fayetteville and Todd Turner of Arkadelphia will serve as special justices in the cases.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide