A look at the 17 players who reached No. 1 in golf

Question of the Day

Is it still considered bad form to talk politics during a social gathering?

View results

PONTE VEDRA BEACH, Fla. (AP) - A look at the 57 times there has been a change at No. 1 in the world ranking, and what the players did the week they reached No. 1:

April 6, 1986 - Bernhard Langer: Did not play.

April 27, 1986 - Seve Ballesteros: Runner-up in the Madrid Open.

Sept. 14, 1986 - Greg Norman: Won the European Open.

Nov. 22, 1987 - Seve Ballesteros: Tied for third in the Dunlop Phoenix in Japan.

Nov. 29, 1987 - Greg Norman: Won the Australian Open.

Oct. 30, 1988 - Seve Ballesteros: Runner-up in the Volvo Masters.

Nov. 6, 1988 - Greg Norman: Lost in a playoff at the Australian PGA Championship.

Nov. 13, 1988 - Seve Ballesteros: Won the Taiheiyo Masters

March 26, 1989 - Greg Norman: Tied for second in the USF&G; Classic in New Orleans.

April 2, 1989 - Seve Ballesteros: Tied for third in the Houston Open.

Aug. 20, 1989 - Greg Norman: Won The International.

Sept. 2, 1990 - Nick Faldo: Did not play as he recovered from a wrist injury

Oct. 14, 1990 - Greg Norman: Did not play.

Feb. 3, 1991 - Nick Faldo: Did not play.

Story Continues →

View Entire Story

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

blog comments powered by Disqus