Continued from page 1

MAKING A POINT: For the first time, IndyCar awarded points based on qualifying runs. The top qualifier on Saturday earned 33 points, second place got 32 and so on, all the way to one point for the 33rd-place entrant. The pole winner earned another nine points Sunday, decreasing to one point for the ninth-place starter. Power stretched his points lead without ever taking a checkered flag. He didn’t realize until a broadcaster explained the rule to him that he would be earning points. “Free points in qualifying, that’s great,” Power said.

CHAMPS ARE HERE: There are six former Indianapolis 500 winners in the starting field: Kanaan (2013), Castroneves (2001, 2002, 2009), Scott Dixon (2008), Montoya (2000), Buddy Lazier (1996) and Jacques Villeneuve (1995). They have a combined eight 500 victories. The record for most former winners in the field is 10, in 1992.