- Associated Press - Wednesday, September 3, 2014

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (AP) - Will Power capped his first IndyCar Series championship with a $1 million bonus check.

Power won his first series championship Saturday night, finishing ninth in the final race at Fontana before raising the Astor Cup for the first time in a career filled with agonizing misses.

Power and team owner Roger Penske were presented with the championship bonus check and replicas of the Astor Cup, the IndyCar Series championship trophy.

“It’s still sinking in really,” Power said at the postseason IndyCar banquet. “When you want something so bad for so long, it’s such a relief when you finally get it. It’s exactly that, a culmination of 15 years of hard work to get to this point.”

Power also received a championship ring, a $75,000 prize for winning the most races and the Verizon P1 Award for scoring the most points among pole winners.

Power headlined a banner year for Team Penske. Matt Jonnson, chief mechanic for Power’s No. 12 Chevrolet, accepted the Verizon IndyCar Series Chief Mechanic of the Year Award. Jon Bouslog of Team Penske accepted the Team Manager of the Year Award.

In other awards: Carlos Munoz of Andretti Autosport earned $50,000 as IndyCar’s Rookie of the Year and Jack Hawksworth won the Tony Renna Rising Star Award.

Charlie Kimball claimed the $25,000 TAG Heuer “Don’t Crack Under Pressure” Award for advancing the most cumulative places during the season.

Juan Pablo Montoya was voted favorite driver by Verizon IndyCar Series fans in his first year back after several seasons in NASCAR.

Jim Campbell, Chevrolet’s vice president of performance vehicles and motorsports, accepted the manufacturer’s award on behalf of Chevrolet.

Helio Castroneves of Team Penske was honored as the second-place finisher in the championship while 2013 series champion Scott Dixon of Target Chip Ganassi Racing was honored for finishing third.

Susie Wheldon was selected the winner of the Dan and Susie Wheldon Make a Difference Award. A $1,000 donation to charity will be made in her honor.


FORMULA 1: Haas Formula is now Haas F1 Team.

Gene Haas, founder of Haas Automation and chairman of the newly renamed Haas F1 Team, opted for the name change to better correlate his team with the FIA Formula 1 World Championship.

Story Continues →