- Associated Press - Monday, January 5, 2015

MADISON, Wis. (AP) - The Wisconsin Assembly’s 99 members are taking the oath of office for the 2015-17 legislative session.

Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice David Prosser swore in the members en masse on Monday afternoon. The representatives, wearing boutonnieres, then took turns signing the oath of office book. The book has been used on every inauguration day since 1877.

Prosser swore in Republican Rep. Robin Vos individually as Assembly speaker to a standing ovation. Vos served as speaker during the last session as well. He delivered a speech calling on representatives to shrink government by consolidating agencies and curb spending.

Republicans control the chamber 63-36. They control the Senate 18-14 and Scott Walker holds the governor’s office, giving the GOP complete control of state government for a third straight session.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide