- Associated Press - Tuesday, January 6, 2015

HARRISON, Ark. (AP) - Early voting is set to begin in a special election for a seat in the Arkansas state Senate.

Voters may cast their ballots starting Tuesday during regular business hours at county courthouses in Boone, Carroll and Newton counties to fill the District 16 seat. Former Sen. Michael Lamoreux resigned the seat after being named chief of staff for Gov.-elect Asa Hutchinson.

The Harrison Daily Times reports (http://bit.ly/1rXMo9D ) that Republicans Thomas Akin, Stan Berry and Greg Standridge are seeking the GOP nomination and that there are no Democrats on the ballot.

Early voting will be available Monday-Friday and again next Monday. The election will be Jan. 13 and a runoff, if needed, would be Feb. 10.


Information from: Harrison Daily Times, http://www.harrisondaily.com



Click to Read More

Click to Hide