- Associated Press - Saturday, June 6, 2015

SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y. (AP) - Buffalo radio station WBFO and television’s Time Warner Cable News Hudson Valley have won the top awards in the New York State Associated Press Association’s annual news awards competition.

WBFO topped the radio competition with a total of seven first-place winners to take home the Steve Flanders Award for the second consecutive year after sharing the grand prize with WRVO in Oswego in 2014.

Time Warner’s Hudson Valley station won the TV competition’s grand prize by taking first place in six categories.

WSLU-FM in Canton won six first-place awards in the radio competition, followed by WRVO with five.

In the TV competition, WENY in Elmira took home five first-place awards, followed by Buffalo’s WGRZ with four.

In the college competition, the winners included the Herkimer County Community College’s HCTV, Fordham’s WFUV-FM and WRHU-FM at Hofstra University.

The awards for news stories broadcast in 2014 were presented Saturday night during the NYSAPA’s annual banquet in Saratoga Springs.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide