- Associated Press - Wednesday, June 1, 2016

JUNEAU, Alaska (AP) - Two more Alaska state legislators are not seeking re-election.

Longtime state Sen. Johnny Ellis announced Wednesday that he will not seek re-election. And Sen. Charlie Huggins plans to retire after finishing out his term, according to Michaela Goertzen, a spokeswoman for the Senate Majority.

Ellis, an Anchorage Democrat, was first elected to the Senate in 1992. Prior to that, he served three terms in the House.

Senate Minority Leader Berta Gardner said it’s almost impossible to imagine the Senate without Ellis.

Huggins, a Wasilla Republican, has served in the Senate since his appointment in 2004. He is a former Senate president.

Other legislators who have said they won’t seek re-election this year include Republican Sens. Bill Stoltze and Lesil McGuire and Republican Reps. Kurt Olson and Mike Hawker.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide