- Associated Press - Saturday, June 25, 2016

CARSON CITY, Nev. (AP) - Starting next month, Nevada motorists will have to replace their vehicle license plates every eight years.

A bill approved by last year’s Legislature to address law enforcement agencies’ complaints about many plates being unreadable will go into effect July 1.

Department of Motor Vehicles officials say license plates fade from exposure to the elements. They are supposed to be readable from about 100 feet away.

A new plate will require an $8 fee, The Las Vegas Review-Journal reported (https://bit.ly/299bzix ).

“The recovery fee for a license plate is a regulation,” said Dave Wiley, services manager at the Department of Motor Vehicles. “We are not working for a profit. We just want to stay solvent.”

However, state officials are not applying the replacement law to blue-and-white license plates made before 1982 and plates marking Nevada’s 125th and 150th anniversaries of statehood. Sean McDonald, DMV central services administrator, said there is historic pride connected to the pre-1982 design and many officials remember the outcry when the plate was redesigned. The original blue plates were issued from 1970 to 1982.

Motorists with specialty plates that support causes will not have to pay a replacement cost because they already have a $10 levy for renewal.

Kevin Malone, DMV spokesman in Las Vegas, said over the next three years the department is hoping to clear a backlog of about 720,000 plates that exceeded the eight-year threshold.

___

Information from: Las Vegas Review-Journal, https://www.lvrj.com

LOAD COMMENTS ()

 

Click to Read More

Click to Hide