- Associated Press - Thursday, October 20, 2016

MADISON, Wis. (AP) - President Barack Obama has declared a federal disaster in 10 western Wisconsin counties hit by torrential rains in September.

Gov. Scott Walker on Thursday announced the Federal Emergency Management Agency declaration. The counties are Adams, Chippewa, Clark, Crawford, Jackson, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Richland and Vernon.

In a statement, Walker calls the federal assistance “a welcome relief” as local governments work to repair roads and other damaged infrastructure.

Walker requested the federal disaster declaration last week. He also had requested the declaration cover Eau Claire and Trempealeau counties, but those two counties did not sustain enough damage to qualify.

Preliminary assessments determined the storms caused more than $11 million in damage to roads and public infrastructure.

The aid is not for private businesses or homeowners affected by the flooding.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide