Opinion

Featured Articles
Recent Articles
  • From Point A to Point B without Forgetting Point C: Competitiveness

    By By: U.S. Rep. Tom Rice

    It is no secret that many of our interstates, highways, and bridges are in dire need of repair. This impacts everyone—from the school bus driver taking children to school, families traveling out of state for vacations, and truck drivers transporting consumer goods. Not only does this impact our daily lives, but it also threatens our safety in emergency situations. Published July 23, 2014

  • Innovative Transportation Financing: TIFIA 2.0

    By U.S. Rep. Daniel Webster

    America's transportation and infrastructure system is the backbone of our economy. Growth and job creation all across the country depend on strategic placement and quality upkeep of our massive travel and transport capabilities. Advancements in technology and shifts in the economic culture are leaving an impression on the way we conduct business and the systems we use to facilitate commerce. And with the changing times, our transportation system is also in transition. Published July 23, 2014

  • Putting local leaders in the driver's seat for transportation needs

    By U.S. Sen. Roger Wicker

    Signs of disrepair can be seen across the country. Roads and bridges in rural, suburban, and urban areas are in desperate need of maintenance and upgrades. Continuing to ignore the need for these improvements would seriously compromise America's public safety and economic competitiveness. Published July 23, 2014

  • COBLE: Best of times, worst of times for American drivers

    By U.S. Rep. Howard Coble

    During few periods in history have highway transportation science and policy assembled at such an important crossroad. Published July 23, 2014

  • GIBBS: WRRDA: A True Bipartisan Solution

    By U.S. Rep. Bob Gibbs

    With Washington in gridlock and the President at odds with Congress, the passage of the Water Resources Reform and Development Act (WRRDA) in June of this year is a signal that good policy can trump partisan rhetoric. Published July 23, 2014

  • VITTER: Our Ports and Waterways key to a vibrant economy

    By Sen. David Vitter (R-La.)

    As we work to grow jobs and the economy, we should always remember the importance of trade and maritime commerce as well as the infrastructure necessary to support it modern, properly dredged ports and waterways. Published July 23, 2014

  • SHUSTER: Technology plays key role in transportation

    By U.S. Rep. Bill Shuster (R-PA)

    Progress in our society and economy typically comes about because of new technologies, or advances in utilizations of technology the assembly line or the internet, for example. Published July 23, 2014

  • KIRKPATRICK: Highway Trust Fund helps drive our rural economies

    By Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick

    Let's face it: Infrastructure isn't sexy. It's often overlooked and underappreciated until something crumbles. But in the small towns and tribal communities of rural Arizona, our daily lives won't let us forget the importance of infrastructure. It's at the core of our struggle for decent roads, better broadband access, and reliable water and energy supplies. Published July 23, 2014

  • RIBBLE: Keeping our waterways flowing: and making Congress work at the same time

    By U.S. Rep. Reid Ribble

    It seems like Congress just can't get anything done these days, even when there's broad agreement that a problem needs to be solved. Instead, the important issues tend to get punted until "after the next election." And then, once the next election passes, it's on to the next election. And the next. And so forth. Published July 23, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Obama's downed-airliner response insufficient

    By THE WASHINGTON TIMES

    When the Malaysian airliner was shot down, millions of Americans dropped what they were doing to follow the news minute by minute. Well, with one notable exception. President Obama continued with his political fundraising tour. Published July 23, 2014

  • BOOK REVIEW: 'A Spy Among Friends'

    By Muriel Dobbin - Special to The Washington Times

    There is no question that Kim Philby was the most legendary spy of World War II, carving a trail of deception and death in the world of espionage. Published July 23, 2014

  • It's grim: 911 Commission warns terrorism has entered 'a new and dangerous phase'

    By Jennifer Harper - The Washington Times

    It's been a decade since the 9/11 Commission issued a comprehensive report about the terrorist attacks on American soil that "changed everything," according to much of the public. The commission has a new follow-up. The 48-page report released Tuesday is grim, determined and factual. Published July 23, 2014

  • No laughing matter: Perry's Texas jails 203,000 'criminal aliens' for 640K crimes

    By Jennifer Harper - The Washington Times

    Texas Gov. Rick Perry has already spent $500 million trying to maintain order and security in the Rio Grand Valley. Published July 22, 2014

TWT Video Picks
Political Cartoons
  • The Israelis are bombing again!

    The Israelis are bombing again!

    Illustration by Dana Summers of the Tribune Media Services

  • Happening Now
    Continuing Coverage
      Get Involved

      Write for Commentary

      All commentary submissions must be original and exclusive to The Washington Times. Standard length for op-eds is 600-800 words. Longer submissions are less likely to be accepted. Please allow us 72 hours to review your submission. If we have not contacted you within that period, you are free to submit it elsewhere. All op-eds are subject to editing for space, style and clarity.

      Please complete the two forms below and email to commentary@washingtontimes.com

      IRS W-9
      Freelance Agreement

      Question of the Day

      Is it still considered bad form to talk politics during a social gathering?

      View results