Opinion

Featured Articles
Recent Articles
  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: End targeting of Ahmadis in Pakistan

    By THE WASHINGTON TIMES

    Wind and solar are parasitic power producers, unable to survive in a modern electricity grid without the backup of standalone electricity generators such as hydro, coal or gas. Published July 17, 2014

  • Detainees sleep and watch television in a holding cell where hundreds of mostly Central American immigrant children are being processed and held at the U.S. Customs and Border Protection Nogales Placement Center on Wednesday, June 18, 2014, in Nogales, Ariz.  CPB provided media tours Wednesday of two locations in Brownsville, Texas, and Nogales, that have been central to processing the more than 47,000 unaccompanied children who have entered the country illegally since Oct. 1. (AP Photo/Ross D. Franklin, Pool)

    PRUDEN: The president finds his legacy in border invasion

    By Wesley Pruden - The Washington Times

    That noisy flutter above the rooftops is the sound of chickens coming home, trying to find a place on the crowded Democratic roost. Published July 17, 2014

  • AHARONI: The most dangerous weapon in Gaza

    By Ido Aharoni

    There is nowhere left for us to go. Israelis from Eilat to Haifa have heard the red alerts blast as Hamas has indiscriminately launched more than one thousand rockets at our cities over the last few weeks. Israelis throughout the entire country have had to stop, run and hide, as the threat of terrorism has unacceptably become a part of our daily lives. Published July 17, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: President hardly 'doing his job'

    By THE WASHINGTON TIMES

    President Obama's campaign to destroy the American way of life continues as he allows illegal immigrants to infiltrate our country unencumbered. Published July 17, 2014

  • KRIKORIAN: Hitting the boiling point over the border

    By Mark Krikorian

    It's probably not true that a frog will allow itself to be boiled alive if only the heat is raised slowly enough, but it's an irresistible image nonetheless. Published July 17, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: End targeting of Ahmadis in Pakistan

    By THE WASHINGTON TIMES

    A young man was fatally shot in front of his shop a few days ago in Nawabshah, Pakistan. Published July 17, 2014

  • BOOK REVIEW: 'The Literary Churchill'

    By Martin Rubin - Special to The Washington Times

    The character and career of Sir Winston Churchill are both so protean that it is not surprising that there have been studies of the great man emphasizing innumerable aspects, running the gamut from military strategist and statesman to painter and gourmand. Published July 17, 2014

  • KERNS: Republicans are ready for the 2014 midterms

    By Jennifer Kerns

    The top five national GOP groups have unveiled an unprecedented, coordinated strategy for the 2014 midterm elections that reads like a war telegram predicting a wide-scale Democrat trouncing in November. Published July 17, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: The polar vortex in a teapot

    By THE WASHINGTON TIMES

    July is usually the hottest month for the District of Columbia. It's swelter time in a city built not on a hill, but in a swamp. Published July 17, 2014

  • The Republican parade begins: Eight GOP heavyweights head to Iowa

    By Jennifer Harper - The Washington Times

    With the Bridgegate scandal in his rear view mirror, New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie has been re-establishing his public presence, and now visits Iowa with much on his agenda. He is just the start of a long parade of Republicans who will journey to the state in the next few weeks, led by Sen. Rand Paul and Gov. Rick Perry, among many others. Published July 17, 2014

  • CROWLEY: The takedown of the American superpower

    By Monica Crowley

    It amazes me that more than 5 years into Barack Obama's presidency, otherwise-intelligent people are still wondering who he is, what he believes and why he's doing what he's doing. It's not a mystery. Published July 17, 2014

  • MIRON: A case for the libertarian

    By Jeffrey Miron

    As the American political scene becomes ever more polarized, citizens of all political views have tired of both the liberal and conservative perspectives. Published July 17, 2014

  • LAMBRO: The immigrants who built an economic colossus

    By Donald Lambro

    I met a man in his mid-50s recently who told me he came to America as a very young man with less than $25 in his pocket and made a pretty good life for himself here. Published July 17, 2014

  • America hasn't peaked yet

    By John Andrews

    "Contrition is BS." Press secretary Ronald Ziegler's acid tone shocked me and he didn't use the initials. It was 1973, a bad year in a bad decade for America. I was a young speechwriter in the Nixon White House, assigned to gather input from Ziegler and national security advisor Henry Kissinger for a TV address that we hoped would put the president's Watergate troubles behind him. Published July 16, 2014

  • The Tea Party and the modern-day Sagebrush Rebellion

    By Niger Innis

    The issue of land ownership in America is as old as this nation, itself. However, still, Americans in the West are forced to live in states and work on lands that the federal government greedily declares is theirs, not ours. Published July 16, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Tea Party Democrats?

    By THE WASHINGTON TIMES

    Few Democrats say things like, "the government is too big and intrusive, and we must cut red tape." But several Democrats on the Senate Judiciary Committee sounded like speakers at a Tea Party rally this week in defense of a bill to lift burdensome regulations from the abortion industry. Published July 16, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Planned Parenthood ignores statutory rape

    By THE WASHINGTON TIMES

    In response to the latest of many reports and lawsuits against Planned Parenthood for failure to report sexual abuse of children, Marie Logsden, vice president of communications at Planned Parenthood of the Rocky Mountains, said in part: "The well-being of our patients is our highest priority." Published July 16, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Congress, others complicit in border problem

    By THE WASHINGTON TIMES

    Does America truly have a border problem or have we become so complacent, so soft and so focused and involved with our own personal lives, that we have collectively lost our ability to care? Published July 16, 2014

  • HARPER: Media should be more skeptical of academic work

    By Christopher Harper

    A scandal concerning academic journals that could unravel theories and practices from acoustics to climate change rattled scientists this month throughout the world. Published July 16, 2014

  • TYRRELL: The playboy presidents, Clinton and Harding

    By R. Emmett Tyrrell Jr.

    For years, I have been comparing the Clinton family to the family of Warren Gamaliel Harding, our 29th president. Published July 16, 2014

TWT Video Picks
Political Cartoons
  • The Israelis are bombing again!

    The Israelis are bombing again!

    Illustration by Dana Summers of the Tribune Media Services

  • Happening Now
    Continuing Coverage
      Get Involved

      Write for Commentary

      All commentary submissions must be original and exclusive to The Washington Times. Standard length for op-eds is 600-800 words. Longer submissions are less likely to be accepted. Please allow us 72 hours to review your submission. If we have not contacted you within that period, you are free to submit it elsewhere. All op-eds are subject to editing for space, style and clarity.

      Please complete the two forms below and email to commentary@washingtontimes.com

      IRS W-9
      Freelance Agreement

      Question of the Day

      Is it still considered bad form to talk politics during a social gathering?

      View results