Opinion

Featured Articles
Recent Articles
  • ** FILE **  Former Montana Gov. Brian Schweitzer, shown here in Helena, Mont., August, 2012, says he will not run for Montana's open U.S. Senate seat in 2014. (AP Photo/Matt Gouras, File)

    An opportunity that can't be lost

    By David Keene - The Washington Times

    After a landslide victory in 2008, Barack Obama and his political advisors vowed to not only fundamentally change America, but to lock down their victory by fundamentally changing the politics of the American West. Published July 16, 2014

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Congress, others complicit in border problem

    By THE WASHINGTON TIMES

    Does America truly have a border problem or have we become so complacent, so soft and so focused and involved with our own personal lives, that we have collectively lost our ability to care? Published July 16, 2014

  • Illustration on world decline as a consequence of American decline by Linas Garsys/The Washington Times

    HANSON: When America fell apart

    By Victor Davis Hanson

    The summer of 2014 will go down in history as the season when America fell apart. Let's take a tour of the disasters. Published July 16, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Trademark litigation run amok

    By THE WASHINGTON TIMES

    Ever since the United States deposed Manuel Noriega as the maximum leader of Panama a quarter of a century ago, he, like Rodney Dangerfield, "don't get no respect." So the other day, Noriega filed a lawsuit from his cell in Panama's El Renacer prison. Published July 16, 2014

  • Winning Western women

    By Tammy Bruce

    As a woman who moved from the left to the right, I've watched with some interest the political discussion about how conservatives can address women's issues and win our support. Published July 16, 2014

  • DUNCAN: Goldwater plus 50: Looking back at the launch of conservatism

    By John J. Duncan Jr.

    Fifty years ago yesterday, I was in the Cow Palace in San Francisco when Sen. Barry Goldwater accepted the presidential nomination at the Republican National Convention. Published July 16, 2014

  • FIELDS: Living history at ground zero

    By Suzanne Fields

    Sometimes derided in what New Yorkers call "flyover country," Gotham is nevertheless a microcosm of America with its many immigrant and ethnic cultures. Published July 16, 2014

  • Ready to rumble: Ready for Warren Vs. Ready for Hillary

    By Jennifer Harper - The Washington Times

    Looks like the high profile political action committee Ready for Hillary has some company. Launched Tuesday, Ready4Warren.com is a new campaign website to support a potential presidential run by Sen. Elizabeth Warren of Massachusetts. Published July 16, 2014

  • When the West is pushed, it turns right

    By Carl Graham

    Most people have heard by now that the locals out West are getting a little restless, as they have every other generation or so since the mid-19th century. Published July 16, 2014

  • SELNICK: An action plan for VA reform

    By Darin Selnick

    The latest report describing the breakdown of performance and service at the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) was unsparing. Published July 16, 2014

  • America hasn't peaked yet

    By John Andrews

    "Contrition is BS." Press secretary Ronald Ziegler's acid tone shocked me and he didn't use the initials. It was 1973, a bad year in a bad decade for America. I was a young speechwriter in the Nixon White House, assigned to gather input from Ziegler and national security advisor Henry Kissinger for a TV address that we hoped would put the president's Watergate troubles behind him. Published July 16, 2014

  • HARPER: Media should be more skeptical of academic work

    By Christopher Harper

    A scandal concerning academic journals that could unravel theories and practices from acoustics to climate change rattled scientists this month throughout the world. Published July 16, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Insuring for the storm

    By THE WASHINGTON TIMES

    The hurricane season opened this year with only a whimper. Instead of smashing houses and uprooting ancient trees along the Atlantic coast and spoiling the Fourth of July, Hurricane Arthur was a bit of a dud. Published July 16, 2014

  • The Tea Party and the modern-day Sagebrush Rebellion

    By Niger Innis

    The issue of land ownership in America is as old as this nation, itself. However, still, Americans in the West are forced to live in states and work on lands that the federal government greedily declares is theirs, not ours. Published July 16, 2014

  • The West may rise again

    By Monica Crowley - The Washington Times

    Not so long ago, the American West was fertile ground for conservative thought, action, and leadership. It was the region that remained most faithful to the nation's founding principles of personal freedom, rugged individualism, and economic freedom. It prided itself on being the nation's political frontier, a place that maintained its fiercely devoted embrace of the pioneering spirit that gave rise to America's continental expansion and ultimately, its superpower status. Published July 16, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Big Labor's attack on tipping

    By Ryan Williams

    The practice of tipping – especially popular in the United States – has a new and formidable enemy. Inexplicable as it may seem, Big Labor has set its sights on the custom of tipping – an institution that has helped move millions of workers into the middle class. Published July 16, 2014

  • BOOK REVIEW: 'Police State USA'

    By Adam Walinsky - Special to The Washington Times

    The subtitle to this alarmingly titled book is "How Orwell's Nightmare is Becoming Our Reality." The author, a news writer for The Washington Times, offers as illustration a case in which a former Marine was arrested and forced to undergo a psychiatric evaluation on the basis of anti-government messages posted on his Facebook page. Published July 16, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Missouri aims to stop the snoops

    By THE WASHINGTON TIMES

    The Founding Fathers were without peer in the eloquence and power of words. For more than two centuries, their ideas have shown the way to build a free and prosperous nation. It's a sign of our splintered times that some Americans feel it necessary to bring timeless language "up to date." Published July 15, 2014

  • CARSON: Literacy cultivates a curious mind

    By Ben S. Carson

    I recently returned home after two weeks of engagements in New Zealand and Australia focusing on empowerment through reading. Published July 15, 2014

  • LIPIEN: A propaganda-free Voice of America

    By Ted Lipien

    Should U.S. taxpayers' money go to producing a promotional video for the Voice of America (VOA) Urdu Service featuring a zombie dressed as Uncle Sam, while a VOA English News video fails to show Vice President Joe Biden and Sen. John McCain visiting Ukraine? Published July 15, 2014

TWT Video Picks
Political Cartoons
  • We're not sure when we'll get to you.

    We're not sure when we'll get to you.

    llustration by Dana Summers of the Tribune Media Services

  • Happening Now
    Continuing Coverage
      Get Involved

      Write for Commentary

      All commentary submissions must be original and exclusive to The Washington Times. Standard length for op-eds is 600-800 words. Longer submissions are less likely to be accepted. Please allow us 72 hours to review your submission. If we have not contacted you within that period, you are free to submit it elsewhere. All op-eds are subject to editing for space, style and clarity.

      Please complete the two forms below and email to commentary@washingtontimes.com

      IRS W-9
      Freelance Agreement

      Question of the Day

      Is it still considered bad form to talk politics during a social gathering?

      View results