Other - Washington Times
Skip to content


Featured Articles

Texas bill could deny transgender wrestler title defense

- Associated Press

When transgender wrestler Mack Beggs won a girls’ state championship, his victory drew jeers and complaints that his steroid therapy treatment had given him an unfair advantage against girls who risked injury just by getting on the mat with him.

The Washington Valor, part of a five-team mostly East Coast-based Arena Football League, are 1-2 in their first season going into Saturday's home game with Tampa Bay. (Ned Dishman)

Washington gets taste of arena football with Valor

- The Washington Times

The field is half the size, the ball, somehow, never goes out of bounds and the final tally looks more like a basketball score. Welcome to arena football — Ted Leonsis’ latest offering for the D.C. sports fan.

British boxer Anthony Joshua, center, knocks down Ukrainian boxer Wladimir Klitschko as they fight for Joshua's IBF and the vacant WBA Super World and IBO heavyweight titles at Wembley stadium in London, Saturday, April 29, 2017. Joshua won with an 11th round stoppage. (AP Photo/Matt Dunham)

British heavyweight boxing star Joshua knocks out Klitschko

- Associated Press

Anthony Joshua survived the first knockdown of his young career, coming back to drop Wladimir Klitschko twice before stopping him in the 11th round Saturday night to retain his heavyweight titles.

Related Articles

Natalia Molchanova went missing Sunday in the Belearic Sea near the island of Formentera, when she got caught by a strong underwater current. (Associated Press)

Natalia Molchanova, world-class freediver, feared dead

- The Washington Times

Natalia Molchanova, the world's most decorated freediver, is feared dead after going missing during a recreational dive off the coast of Spain, CNN reported. She is believed to have been caught by a strong underwater current, her family said.

Washington Nationals MASN Sports play-by-play announcer was honored this past weekend as co-D.C. sportscaster of the year, along with CSN Washington's Joe Beninati, the voice of the Washington Capitals. (The Washington Times)

LOVERRO: Salisbury, North Carolina, an oasis of hope for sports media

- The Washington Times

Sports writers and broadcasters flocked to the small town outside of Charlotte to be honored for the work they do in their respective fields -- at a time when that work is often publicly ridiculed and attacked by anonymous critics with keyboard muscles, or dismissed by wealthy athletes with agent-driven personal web sites.

Dez Wells and Melo Trimble (2) led Maryland to a second-place regular season finish and Big Ten Tournament semifinals. (Associated Press) **FILE**

Maryland Terrapins' first year in Big Ten a resounding success

- The Washington Times

Grumbling came in when tradition went out. The University of Maryland was uprooting itself from the Atlantic Coast Conference to join middle America in the Big Ten. No more conference games against Duke or North Carolina. It was off to "The Big House" for Saturday afternoon football and Assembly Hall to face the ghosts of Bobby Knight.

In a Saturday, March 1, 2014, photo, Scott Janssen keeps control of his sled rounding the corner near Goose Lake during the ceremonial start for Iditarod 42 in Anchorage, Alaska. A weather pattern that has buried the eastern U.S. in snow has left Alaska fairly warm and relatively snow-free this winter, forcing the world's most famous sled dog race farther north. (AP Photo/Anchorage Daily News,Anne Raup)

Warm weather forced Iditarod farther north

- Associated Press

Much of the start of the world's most famous sled dog race is covered in barren gravel, forcing Iditarod organizers to move the start further north where there is snow and ice.

Washington Times sports columnist Thom Loverro has been named to the Washington, D.C., Boxing Hall of Fame (The Washington Times)

The Times' Thom Loverro named D.C.'s top sportswriter

- The Washington Times

Washington Times sports columnist Thom Loverro has been named District of Columbia Sportswriter of the Year by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association, a membership organization consisting of 800 sportscasters and sportswriters from across the nation.