Photo by: Heiko Junge

Norwegian Nobel Committee Chairman Thorbjoern Jagland (from left) applauds European Council President Herman Van Rompuy, European Commission President Jose Manuel Barroso and European Parliament President Martin Schulz on the podium at the City Hall in Oslo during the Nobel Peace Prize ceremony on Monday Dec. 10, 2012. The European Union received this year’s prize for promoting "peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights" in Europe for six decades following the tremendous devastation of World War II. (AP Photo/Heiko Junge/NTB Scanpix, Pool)