- The Washington Times - Wednesday, August 2, 2000

NASHVILLE, Tenn. Faith Hill received eight nominations yesterday for Country Music Association awards, while Nashville showed a penchant for self-criticism by nominating the song "Murder on Music Row" twice.
Singers Lee Ann Womack and Brad Paisley, along with the band Lonestar, announced the nominations at a news conference at Adelphia Coliseum. Winners will be announced Oct. 4 at a ceremony at the Grand Ole Opry House, broadcast live by CBS.
Miss Womack's "I Hope You Dance" and Mr. Paisley's "He Didn't Have to Be" were nominated in the best song, single and video categories.
Miss Hill was nominated for the top award best entertainer along with her husband, Tim McGraw; the Dixie Chicks; Alan Jackson; and George Strait. Last year's winner, Shania Twain, was not nominated.
Miss Hill also was nominated for best female vocalist; vocal event of the year for "Let's Make Love," a duet with Mr. McGraw; and best album, single and video, all for "Breathe." She could win eight awards because as a producer, she would get two awards if she wins best album and single.
Mr. Paisley, a hot newcomer, was nominated in six categories, including best male vocalist with Mr. Jackson, Mr. Strait, Mr. McGraw and Vince Gill. Mr. Paisley's other nominations were for album of the year for "Who Needs Pictures" and the Horizon award for career progress.
The biggest surprise was "Murder on Music Row." The song, which criticizes the recent pop-music direction that Nashville has taken, got Mr. Jackson and Mr. Strait a nod for best vocal event. Writers Larry Cordell and Larry Shell were nominated for best song.
Nominated with Miss Hill for best female vocalist were Martina McBride, Jo Dee Messina, Miss Womack and Trisha Yearwood.
Joining "I Hope You Dance," "He Didn't Have to Be" and "Breathe" in the category of best single were "How Do You Like Me Now" by Toby Keith and "Buy Me a Rose" by veteran Kenny Rogers.
About 6,000 workers in the country music industry nominate and vote for CMA winners. The awards began in 1967.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide