- The Washington Times - Wednesday, December 20, 2000

Ten artists, an arts patron and a cultural broadcaster will receive the National Medal for the Arts from President and Mrs. Clinton at 10 a.m. today at Constitution Hall.

Established by Congress in 1984, the medal honors individuals and organizations who have contributed to the arts in America in some way this year. Nominations are solicited by the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA).

This year's recipients are poet and author Maya Angelou, country singer Eddy Arnold, dancer and director Mikhail Baryshnikov, jazz musician Benny Carter, painter Chuck Close, playwright and screenwriter Horton Foote, violinist Itzhak Perlman, sculptor Claes Oldenburg, theater director and producer Harold Prince, entertainer Barbra Streisand, arts patron Lewis Manilow and the cultural-programming division for National Public Radio.

The medal each winner will receive was designed by artist Robert Graham. NEA Chairman Bill Ivey said they are being cited for "their leadership, their activism and for all they've done to ensure the arts remain at the center of American life."

For instance, Mr. Manilow, who lives in Chicago, has helped revitalize the city's theater district with the opening of the new Goodman Theatre. He has been a major donor for many arts institutions in the city and hopes to convert an abandoned bus terminal into a visual-arts center. He also wishes to found an international arts magazine concentrating on the Midwest.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide