- The Washington Times - Tuesday, May 9, 2000

The Studio Theatre's "Indian Ink," which proved popular with local audiences, also captured six Helen Hayes Awards last night at the Kennedy Center the most of any production.

That and Christopher Michael Bauer's award for outstanding supporting performer in a resident musical, "Slam" earned the Studio Theatre a total of seven awards in Washington's local theater honors. These included outstanding resident play for "Indian Ink."

No other theater received more than two awards each, although Arena Stage, like Studio, had been nominated for 18. Arena Stage received two awards, both for "Animal Crackers."

The Kennedy Center had accumulated 16 nominations and Signature Theatre 13. A Kennedy Center production got one award Angelica Torn in "Side Man" for outstanding lead actress, nonresident production. Signature got none.

"Indian Ink," Tom Stoppard's smoldering play set in 1930s colonial India, was extended three times by Studio Theatre to meet audience demand. The play, which shifted between the past and the present, told the story of a devil-may-care British poet named Flora Crewe and a reserved Indian artist played by Faran Tahir.

Isabel Keating, who played Crewe, won the award for outstanding lead actress, resident play. "Indian" director Joy Zinoman was named outstanding director of a resident play. June Hansen, who played Crewe's sister, won outstanding supporting actress, resident play.

Other "Indian Ink" awards went to Helen Q. Huang for outstanding costume design in a resident play or musical and to Gil Thompson and Ronobir Lahiri for outstanding sound design, resident play or musical.

Named as outstanding lead actor in a resident play was Rick Foucheux in Source Theatre Company's "Edmond."

Other Hayes Awards were:

Outstanding supporting performer, nonresident production: Dick Latessa, "Cabaret," the Warner Theatre.

Outstanding supporting actor, resident play: Christopher Lane, "Equus," Olney Theatre Center for the Arts.

Outstanding set design, resident play or musical: Daniel Conway, "Ambrosio," Rep Stage.

Outstanding lighting design, resident play or musical: Jay A. Herzog, "Ambrosio," Rep Stage.

The Charles MacArthur Award for Outstanding New Play: "The Sins of Sor Juana," by Karen Zacaras, Theater of the First Amendment.

Outstanding choreography, resident play or musical: Irina Tsikurishvili, "The Idiot," Stanislavsky Theater Studio.

Outstanding musical direction, resident play or musical: Kevin Campbell, "The Dark Kalamazoo," Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company.

Outstanding director, resident musical: Douglas C. Wager, "Animal Crackers," Arena Stage.

Outstanding lead actor, resident musical: Anthony Cummings, "Eleanor: An American Love Story," Ford's Theatre.

Outstanding lead actress, resident musical: Anne Kanengeiser, "Eleanor: An American Love Story," Ford's Theatre.

Outstanding resident musical: "Animal Crackers," Arena Stage.

The American Express Tribute: playwright August Wilson.

Outstanding lead actor, nonresident production: Norbert Leo Butz, "Cabaret," the Warner Theatre.

Outstanding nonresident production: "Cabaret," the Warner Theatre.

The KPMG Award for Distinguished Service to the Washington Theatre Community: Sunoco.

The Washington Post Award for Distinguished Community Service: Winifred and Norman Portenoy of the Max and Victoria Dreyfus Foundation.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide