- The Washington Times - Wednesday, August 29, 2001

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — Sara Evans, who became a country sensation this year with the success of her third album, "Born to Fly," was showered with seven nominations yesterday for the Country Music Association awards.
Miss Evans, 30, led all nominees. The nominations were announced at Adelphia Coliseum by Jo Dee Messina and the duo Brooks & Dunn. The soundtrack from "O Brother, Where Art Thou?" which has been one of the year's biggest commercial surprises and successes, was nominated for two of the most important awards — album and song of the year.
Miss Evans is up for best female vocalist and for best single, song, video and album for "Born to Fly." She got dual nominations as a producer of her single and album.
The nomination for best female vocalist lifts Miss Evans to the level of more established stars such as Faith Hill, Martina McBride, Lee Ann Womack and Trisha Yearwood, who also were nominated for the award. Tim McGraw and Brooks & Dunn trailed Miss Evans with four nominations apiece.
Nominees for the top award of best entertainer are Brooks & Dunn, Mr. McGraw, the Dixie Chicks, Alan Jackson and George Strait.
The winners will be announced Nov. 7 at the Grand Ole Opry House during a show broadcast live on CBS. Vince Gill, who wasn't nominated, will serve as host for the 10th straight year.
Some of the biggest stars in country music — Garth Brooks, Shania Twain and the Dixie Chicks — spent much of the year on hiatus. While they were gone, the film "O Brother, Where Art Thou?" became a hit, and its soundtrack sold more than 2 million albums.
"O Brother" is nominated for best album, and a cut from it, "I Am a Man of Constant Sorrow," is in contention for best single. Both were produced by T. Bone Burnett, as were two nominees for best vocal event, "Didn't Leave Nobody but the Baby" and "I'll Fly Away."
Brooks & Dunn also were nominated for best vocal duo, single ("Ain't Nothing 'Bout You") and album ("Steers & Striped"). Kix Brooks and Ronnie Dunn each scored two separate nominations for helping produce the album and single. Mr. McGraw was nominated for male vocalist and received nominations as best artist and best producer for his album "Set This Circus Down."
Nominees for best male vocalist with Mr. McGraw are Mr. Jackson, Mr. Strait, Toby Keith and Brad Paisley.
Nickel Creek, an acclaimed young bluegrass-based trio, was nominated for best vocal group, as were veterans Alabama, Diamond Rio, Dixie Chicks and Lonestar. Nickel Creek also was nominated for the Horizon Award, indicating an act with great promise. Other nominees are Jessica Andrews, Jamie O'Neal, Keith Urban and Phil Vassar.
The 2001 inductees into the Country Music Hall of Fame, who were announced earlier, will be acknowledged during the awards show. They are the Everly Brothers, Sam Phillips, Waylon Jennings, Bill Anderson, the Delmore Brothers, Don Gibson, Homer & Jethro, the Jordanaires, Don Law, the Louvin Brothers, Ken Nelson and Webb Pierce.
About 6,000 CMA members, who work in the country music industry, nominate and select the winners.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide