- The Washington Times - Tuesday, December 18, 2001


Nominees have been announced for the first American Film Institute Awards for film and television. Winners will be disclosed Jan. 5.


Movie: "A Beautiful Mind," "Black Hawk Down," "In the Bedroom," "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring," "The Man Who Wasn't There," "Memento," "Monster's Ball," "Moulin Rouge," "Mulholland Drive," "Shrek."

Actor: Russell Crowe, "A Beautiful Mind"; Billy Bob Thornton, "The Man Who Wasn't There"; Denzel Washington, "Training Day"; Tom Wilkinson, "In the Bedroom."

Actress: Halle Berry, "Monster's Ball"; Stockard Channing, "The Business of Strangers"; Sissy Spacek, "In the Bedroom"; Naomi Watts, "Mulholland Drive."

Actor, non-leading role: Steve Buscemi, "Ghost World"; Brian Cox, "L.I.E"; Gene Hackman, "The Royal Tenenbaums"; Tony Shalhoub, "The Man Who Wasn't There."

Actress, non-leading role: Cate Blanchett, "Bandits"; Jennifer Connelly, "A Beautiful Mind"; Cameron Diaz, "Vanilla Sky"; Frances O'Connor, "A.I. Artificial Intelligence."

Director: Robert Altman, "Gosford Park"; Todd Field, "In the Bedroom"; David Lynch, "Mulholland Drive"; Ridley Scott, "Black Hawk Down."

Screenwriter: Rob Festinger, Todd Field, "In the Bedroom"; Christopher Nolan, "Memento"; Akiva Goldsman, "A Beautiful Mind"; Daniel Clowes, Terry Zwigoff, "Ghost World."

Cinematographer: Ericson Core, "The Fast and the Furious"; Roger Deakins, "The Man Who Wasn't There"; Slawomir Idziak, "Black Hawk Down"; Janusz Kaminski, "A.I. Artificial Intelligence."

Editor: Jill Bilcock, "Moulin Rouge"; Dody Dorn, "Memento"; Pietro Scalia, "Black Hawk Down"; Tim Squyres, "Gosford Park."

Production designer: Stephen Altman, "Gosford Park"; Rick Carter, "A.I. Artificial Intelligence"; Grant Major, "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"; Arthur Max, "Black Hawk Down."

Digital-effects artist: Robert Legato, Nick Davis, Roger Guyett, "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone"; Jim Rygiel, "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"; Scott Farrar, Dennis Muren, "A.I. Artificial Intelligence"; Bob Sabiston, "Waking Life."

Composer: Craig Armstrong ,"Moulin Rouge"; Angelo Badalamenti, "Mulholland Drive"; Patrick Doyle, "Gosford Park"; Howard Shore, "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring."


Drama series: "Buffy the Vampire Slayer," "Six Feet Under," "The Sopranos," "The West Wing."

Comedy series: "Curb Your Enthusiasm," "Everybody Loves Raymond," "Malcolm in the Middle," "Sex and the City."

Movie or miniseries: "Anne Frank," "Band of Brothers," "Boycott," "Conspiracy."

Series actor: James Gandolfini, "The Sopranos"; Michael C. Hall, "Six Feet Under"; Chi McBride, "Boston Public"; Ray Romano, "Everybody Loves Raymond."

Series actress: Edie Falco, "The Sopranos"; Allison Janney, "The West Wing"; Jane Kaczmarek, "Malcolm in the Middle"; Doris Roberts, "Everybody Loves Raymond."

Movie or miniseries actor: Kenneth Branagh, "Conspiracy"; Ben Kingsley, "Anne Frank"; Giovanni Ribisi, "Shot in the Heart"; Jeffrey Wright, "Boycott."

Movie or miniseries actress: Tammy Blanchard, "Life With Judy Garland: Me and My Shadows"; Judy Davis, "Life With Judy Garland: Me and My Shadows"; Hannah Taylor Gordon, "Anne Frank"; Phylicia Rashad, "The Old Settler."

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide