- The Washington Times - Monday, May 7, 2001


James D. Rivette joined the Launch Partners International Inc. (LPII), McLean, as senior vice president. Formerly, Mr. Rivette was president and chief operating officer of Shared Technologies Fairchild Telecom Inc.
Debra P. Kaplan joined LPII as vice president of consulting services. Ms. Kaplan was vice president of Channel Marketing for 2nd Century Communications.
Joseph Young joined the Alexandria office of Paradigm/ Lord + Lasker as director of research.
Martin Public Relations appointed Sally McDonough to head its D.C. operations.
Karen Sloan Lebovich joined the D.C. office of Lipman Hearne Inc. as vice president. Ms. Lebovich served as director of the American Association of University Women Educational Foundation.
The Martin Agency, headquartered in Richmond, appointed Karen Ellis senior vice president and director of brand outreach. Most recently, Ms. Ellis was senior vice president of contract planning.


MulvannyG2 Architecture, Sterling, promoted Ralph Watson to principal.
Gilbane Building Co., Laurel, promoted Mark A. Luria to project executive.
The Columbia, Md., office of National Tenant Construction added David Mazzuca as vice president, Mari Maciano as director of construction, Rich Crouch as superintendent and Stephanie Tyson as project assistant.
The Mid-Atlantic Division of Centex Construction Co., Fairfax, added Tom Eckenrode as superintendent; Bob Frew as project executive; Rory Hoyt as project manager; Genelle McDonald as project manager; Charles Stickney as superintendent; and David Wysong as superintendent.
Centex promoted Mike Fiorillo to senior project manager and Jeff Smith to superintendent.


The Jewish Federation of Greater Washington named Misha Galperin executive vice president. Mr. Galperin was formerly chief operating officer at UJA-Federation of New York.
The Catholic Health Association of the United States named Peter M. Leibold senior vice president of advocacy and public policy. Currently, Mr. Leibold is executive vice president and chief executive officer of the American Health Lawyers Association in the District.
The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN), the District, appointed Debra M. Campbell director of governmental affairs, Robert J. Rosseter director of public affairs and Barbara K. Penn associate director for special projects.
Bridget D. Garra, program manager for Arundel Mills Access to Training and Career Help (MATCH), joined the board of directors of the Corridor Transportation Corp.
Linda R. Burton, president and founder of DRW Inc. in Ellicott City, Md., was elected to the board of directors for the Maryland Chamber of Commerce. Ms. Burton, past chairman of the board for the Howard County Chamber of Commerce (HCCC), will serve as HCCC representative to the Chamber.
Ronald Kowalski joined the National Geographic Society as director of licensing, headlines as National Geographic Enterprises Group and Alexander Moen as director of licensing, members benefits. Mr. Kowalski was the promotions and licensing manager at Hasbro Inc. Mr. Moen was with A.T. Kearney Inc.
The American Road and Transportation Builders Association, the District, promoted Jerry Doremus to director of Internet services.
Janet B. Kreizman joined the Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries Inc. in the District as director of member communications and public affairs. Most recently, she served as director of communications and consumer affairs for the Consumer Specialty Products Association.
The Human Society of the United States appointed Jan Martin director of development and donor relations. Most recently, Ms. Martin was director of major and planned gifts for the American Heart Association.


Anton Airfood Inc., Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, named Brigitte Nash Hodges vice president of human resources. Prior to Anton Airfood, Ms. Nash was the human resource and safety supervisor for Ohmeda Medical in Columbia, Md.
Sherwood Brands Inc., Rockville, named Christopher J. Willi chief financial officer. Mr. Willi had been chief financial officer of Cyntergy Corp. in Rockville.


Debra Lee, president and chief operating officer, BET Holdings Inc., was presented the Woman of the Year Accolade by Women in Cable & Telecommunications for her contributions to the cable and telecommunications industry in 2000.
The Washington, D.C. Convention and Tourism Corp. and the Restaurant Association of Metropolitan Washington, presented the Duke Zeibert Capital Achievement Award to Shelia Stampfli, president of Courtesy Associates for her long history of involvement in the restaurant and hospitality industries.
Robert J. Garagiola, assistant director of government affairs in the D.C. office of the international law firm Greenberg Traurig LLP, was named Democrat of the Year by the Montgomery County Democratic Party in Maryland.
O'Keeffe & Co. Inc., McLean, has been awarded Marketing Computer's Gold Icon Award, the technology marketing industry's top public relations honor. The award recognizes the agency for its work with Riptech, an Internet security solutions provider.
Axis Communications, a marketing firm based in the District, has been awarded the Council for Advancement and Support of Education National Circle of Excellence Award for the design and development of the 2001-02 Langley School Viewbook.
Alexandria-based McEnearney Associates Inc. Realtors accepted the Heart of the Community Award for the company's local philanthropic efforts. The award was presented by Hopkins House, a center for children and their families.
The Clark Construction Group Inc., headquartered in Bethesda, took home three special Star Awards presented by Washington Building Congress for the Investment Building, the District, for the project team's restoration effort; the thermal and moisture protection system at the Chesapeake Bay Foundation's Philip Merrill Environmental Center; and the Williard Inter-Continental Hotel for visual excellence.
David C. Karlgaard, president and chief executive officer of PEC Solutions in Fairfax, has been awarded KPMG's Greater Washington High Tech Entrepreneur Award for his outstanding accomplishments in pioneering new ideas and bringing new business opportunities to the D.C. area.
Best Software Inc., Reston, has been awarded the 2001 Corporate Citizenship Award by KPMG LLP and Washington Techway Magazine, part of the Post-Newsweek Tech Media Group.
The Edison Electric Institute (EEI) has selected the Potomac Electric Power Co., headquartered in the District, as this year's recipient of EEI's Minority Business Development Award.
DynCorp Technical Services, Reston, has been selected by the Department of the Army to receive the prestigious Department of Public Works Support Contractor of the Year Award for 2000 for its efforts at Ft. Belvoir, Va.
The Loudoun County Chamber of Commerce presented its first Administrative Person of the Year Awards to Carol Kaupin, Armfield Harrison & Thomas in Leesburg and Pam Deitz, Computer Sciences Corp. in Sterling for their outstanding professionalism and dedication to their work.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide