Tuesday, May 8, 2001

Signature Theatres “Side Show,” Round House Theatre and Everyman Theatres “The Glass Menagerie” and “James Joyces the Dead” at the Kennedy Center captured the awards for best productions last night at the Helen Hayes Awards ceremony.

The Arlington, Va.-based Signature — whose “Side Show,” about Siamese twins, was honored as outstanding resident musical — led the awards. It garnered four. They were all for “Side Show,” which received the most awards of any production. (The previous year, the Studio Theatre dominated the awards with its “Indian Ink.”)

The awards, presented at the Kennedy Center, honored productions staged locally last year.

The Kennedy Center, whose “James Joyce´s the Dead” was named outstanding nonresident production, garnered three awards. It tied with Arena Stage and the Shakespeare Theatre.

Round House Theatre, based in Silver Spring, Md., won the outstanding resident play award for its production with Everyman Theatre of Tennessee Williams´ classic “The Glass Menagerie.” It received two awards, as did Charter Theatre and Folger Theatre.

The 2-year-old Charter Theatre received the Charles MacArthur Award for Outstanding New Play for Peter Coy´s “A House in the Country.”

Top directing awards went to Joe Calarco for “Side Show” at Signature and Donald Hicken for “The Glass Menagerie” at Round House and Everyman. Jason Robert Brown and William Knowles won outstanding musical direction, resident play or musical, for “Dinah Was” at Arena Stage.

Lead-actor awards went to Marc Wolf, “Another American: Asking and Telling,” the Studio Theatre, nonresident production; Dwayne Nitz, “Sing Down the Moon,” Theater of the First Amendment, resident musical; and Philip Goodwin, “Timon of Athens,” the Shakespeare Theatre, resident play.

Lead-actress awards went to Judith Light, “Wit,” the Kennedy Center, nonresident production; Sherri L. Edelen, “Side Show,” Signature Theatre, resident musical; and Lee Mikeska Gardner, “A House in the Country,” Charter Theatre, resident play.

Other winners were:

Outstanding supporting performer, nonresident production: Alice Cannon in “James Joyce´s the Dead,” the Kennedy Center.

Outstanding supporting performer, resident musical: Eric Jordan Young in “Side Show,” Signature Theatre.

Outstanding supporting actor, resident play: Ted van Griethuysen in “Timon of Athens,” the Shakespeare Theatre.

Outstanding supporting actress, resident play: Jewell Robinson in “Blue,” Arena Stage.

Outstanding set design, resident play or musical: Tony Cisek for “Leaving the Summer Land,” Tribute Productions.

Outstanding lighting design, resident play or musical: Dan Covey for “The Tempest,” Folger Theatre.

Outstanding costume design, resident play or musical: Robert Perdziola for “The Country Wife,” the Shakespeare Theatre.

Outstanding sound design, resident play or musical: Scott Burgess for “The Tempest,” Folger Theatre; Irina Tsikurishvili for “Faust,” Stanislavsky Theater Studio.

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide