- The Washington Times - Saturday, March 16, 2002

The Helen Hayes Awards program had to issue corrections a day after announcing nominations for its 18th annual awards Monday night at the Canadian Embassy.
It attributed inaccurate tallies to "typographical errors."
As a result, the Studio Theatre now has 13 nominations, instead of 12, and the Shakespeare Theatre lost one, getting 12 instead of 13. That means Studio comes in third in number of nominations, behind the Kennedy Center, 16, and Arena Stage, 15.
Two more productions entered the ranks of those receiving five nominations each, the top number. "Perseus Bayou" at Theatre of the First Amendment received five instead of four, and Signature Theatre's "Putting It Together" also garnered five instead of four. They join Arena Stage's "Agamemnon and His Daughters" and "Blues in the Night," the Shakespeare Theatre's "Don Carlos," Round House Theatre's "Home," the Studio Theatre's "The Invention of Love" and Interact Theatre Company's "The Pirates of Penzance" in garnering five nominations each.
Two productions lost nominations. The Shakespeare Theatre's "The Oedipus Plays" received three instead of four, and the Kennedy Center's "A Servant to Two Masters" received two instead of three.
Because of space limitations in Tuesday's newspaper, The Washington Times did not print a complete list of nominations. These are the others:
Outstanding set design, resident play or musical: Tony Cisek, "The Judas Kiss," Rep Stage; Daniel L. Conway, "Jitney," the Studio Theatre; Pavel Dobrusky, "Agamemnon and His Daughters," Arena Stage; James Kronzer, "In the Garden," Signature Theatre; Ming Cho Lee, "Don Carlos," the Shakespeare Theatre; Greg Mitchell, "American Buffalo," Source Theatre Company.
Outstanding lighting design, resident play or musical: Dan Covey, "Macbeth," Folger Theatre; Marcus Dilliard, "The Oedipus Plays," the Shakespeare Theatre; Pavel Dobrusky, "Agamemnon and His Daughters," Arena Stage; Marianne Meadows, "The Chosen," Theater J; Chris Parry, "Don Carlos," the Shakespeare Theatre; Nancy Schertler, "Tom Walker," Arena Stage.
Outstanding costume design, resident play or musical: Lindsay W. Davis, "Agamemnon and His Daughters," Arena Stage; Murell Horton, "Hedda Gabler," the Shakespeare Theatre; Justine Light and Lucas Maroney, "God of Vengeance," Rorschach Theatre and Theater J; Susan E. Mickey, "Blues in the Night," Arena Stage; Robert Perdziola, "Don Carlos," the Shakespeare Theatre; Jelena Vukmirovic, "Perseus Bayou," Theater of the First Amendment.
Outstanding sound design, resident play or musical: Mark Anduss, "Andromeda Shack," Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company; Tony Angelini, "Home," Round House Theatre; Martin Desjardins, "Hamlet," the Shakespeare Theatre; Fabian Obispo, "Agamemnon and His Daughters," Arena Stage; Daniel Portaix, "Les Cloisons (Partitions)," Le Neon Theatre; Gil Thompson, "The Invention of Love," the Studio Theatre.
Outstanding choreography, resident play or musical: Ilona Kessell, "Damn Yankees," Toby's Dinner Theatre; Ilona Kessell, "Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat," Toby's Dinner Theatre; Irina Tsikurishvili, "Don Quixote," Stanislavsky Theater Studio; Septime Webre, "Coyote Builds North America," Arena Stage; Marlies Yearby, "The Oedipus Plays," the Shakespeare Theatre.
The Charles MacArthur Award for Outstanding New Play: "In the Garden," by Norman Allen, Signature Theatre; "The Muckle Man," by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa, Source Theatre Company; "Nathan the Wise," adapted by Paul D'Andrea, Theater of the First Amendment; "Perseus Bayou," conceived by Mary Hall Surface and David Maddox, Theater of the First Amendment; "Stretch Marks," by Martha King De Silva, Charter Theatre.

Piano contest winners
The winners of the 49th Washington International Competition for pianists, which took place last week, include Robert Henry, 28, of Greenbelt, tied for first place, receiving $5,000; Yoshikazu Nagai, a Japanese citizen who teaches at Interlachen Arts Academy in Michigan, also tied for first place, $5,000; and Ralitza Patcheva, who lives in Southwest Washington, second place, $4,000 and the Audience Prize of $500.

Oscars party
The D.C. Film Society will holds its 10th annual Capital Oscars Party "Fun-raiser" at 7:15 p.m. March 24 at Arlington Cinema 'n' Drafthouse, 2903 Columbia Pike, Arlington.
The event includes a silent auction. Tickets cost $15 for Film Society members and $20 for nonmembers and may be purchased in advance. For more information, check online at www.dcfilmsociety.org or call 202/554-3263.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide