- The Washington Times - Monday, March 18, 2002

Fourteen individuals and two organizations have been chosen to receive the National Medal of Arts or the National Humanities Medal for 2001. The awards will be presented in April by President Bush and his wife, Laura.
"President Bush has selected an extraordinary group to receive the National Medal of Arts men, women and an organization whose excellence and diversity represent the unique and lasting contributions of artists and the arts," said Eileen B. Mason, acting chairman for the National Endowment for the Arts. "Each has had an immeasurable impact on our country."
The National Medal of Arts recipients are:
The Alvin Ailey Dance Foundation, a modern dance company and school in New York, founded in 1958.
New Mexico writer Rudolfo Anaya, called the "godfather of Chicano literature," including the best-selling "Bless Me, Ultima."
Singer and songwriter Johnny Cash, who has recorded more than 1,500 songs over a nearly 50-year span.
cActor and producer Kirk Douglas, who received an Academy Award for lifetime achievement in 1996.
Abstract expressionist painter Helen Frankenthaler.
Dance choreographer Judith Jamison, who works with the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater.
Cellist Yo-Yo Ma, who has earned 14 Grammy awards.
New York director and producer Mike Nichols, who won an Academy Award for best director for "The Graduate."
The National Humanities Medal recipients are:
Historical illustrator Jose Cisneros.
cChild psychologist Robert Coles, who teaches psychiatry at Harvard.
Teacher Sharon Darling, president of the National Center for Family Literacy in Louisville, Ky.
Historian and writer William Manchester.
The National Trust for Historic Preservation, Preservation Organization, based in the District.
New York author Richard Peck.
Musicologist Eileen Jackson Southern.
Novelist Tom Wolfe.
The Medal of Arts, established by Congress in 1984, honors individuals and organizations who, in the president's judgment, are deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to the excellence, growth, support and availability of the arts in the United States.
The National Humanities Medal, first awarded in 1988 as the Charles Frankel Prize, honors individuals or groups whose work has deepened the nation's understanding of the humanities, broadened citizens' engagement with the humanities, or helped preserve and expand Americans' access to important resources in the humanities.
Each year, the NEA and the National Endowment for the Humanities seek nominations from individuals and organizations across the country. Their advisory boards provide recommendations to the White House, which selects the recipients.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide