- The Washington Times - Wednesday, May 29, 2002

Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology in Fairfax County and Montgomery Blair High School in Montgomery County led the area in National Merit Scholars announced yesterday.
Each winner will receive a scholarship between $2,000 and $8,000 for four years of study.
The National Merit Scholarship Corp. was established in 1955 to operate the scholarship competition. Most Merit scholarships are provided by grants from businesses and colleges in order to enhance educational opportunities for gifted students. More than 7,600 students nationally won the awards worth about $30 million.
Nine students from Thomas Jefferson and six from Montgomery Blair received the prestigious scholarships.
The Thomas Jefferson winners are Marilyn E. Duncan, Laura E. Phillip, James T. Pascaleff, Daniel T. Jackson, Leah G. Pike, Brian D. Myhre, Kathleen E. Locher and Christopher R. Hannemann.
The Montgomery Blair winners are Emily R. Purcell, Eugene H. Cook, Gregory S. Tucker, Ruben L. Galbraith, Peter J. Yang and Rudolph T. Henkel.
Winners from D.C. schools are Christopher S. Dodd of St. Anselm's Abbey School; Clifford C. Kaplan of Georgetown Day High School, and Jenny M. Lichtenberg of the Edmund Burke School.
Other Maryland winners include Lucas A. Parker and Shawn C. Fraistat of Eleanor Roosevelt High School in Greenbelt, Scott R. Courlander of Thomas Wootton High School in Rockville; Padmapriya Atur of Quince Orchard High School in Gaithersburg; Zachary J. Crystal of the Landon School in Bethesda; Yuri Awanohara, Shira Kolnik and Danila S. Apasov of Walter Johnson High School in Bethesda; Rebecca L. Balon of Col. Zadok Magruder High School in Rockville; Stephen R. Bloom of Georgetown Preparatory School in North Bethesda; Stanisla Datkovskiy, Steven D. Shema and Benjamin D. Maggin of Richard Montgomery High School in Rockville; Karen V. Brubaker of Stone Ridge Country Day School in Bethesda; and Matthew R. Lewis of James Hubert Blake High School in Silver Spring.
Northern Virginia winners include Sevan M. Abashian of James Madison High School in Vienna.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide