- The Washington Times - Thursday, May 9, 2002

Municipal elections in Maryland and Virginia this week resulted in the incumbent mayor being unseated in Fairfax City, while several Maryland elections returned unopposed incumbents to their seats.
In Fairfax City on Tuesday, Robert F. Lederer unseated incumbent Mayor John Mason, while incumbents R. Scott Silverthorne, Gary J. Rasmussen and Jeffrey C. Greenfield were re-elected to the city council along with newcomers Gail C. Lyon, Joan W. Cross and Patrice M. Winter.
Jon A. Buttram, Allen C. Griffith, Janice B. Miller and Courtney R. Robinson were elected to the Fairfax City School Board, and incumbents Janice Miller and Penelope A. Rood were re-elected.
With half of Prince William precincts reporting, Melvin Bray defeated Kevin T. English to become mayor of Dumfries. In the race for town council, Charles C. Brewer was elected and Clyde N. Washington Jr. and N. Sue Cornell were re-elected. Incumbent Claude M. Thomas was among the losing candidates.
Robert J. Oliver, Judith S. Hays and J. Steven Randolph won seats on the Manassas City Council. Steven S. Smith was unsuccessful in his bid.
Winners in the Manassas School Board election were Patrick D. Linehan and Ed W. Pratt Jr. and incumbent Curtis W. Wunderly. But incumbents Tom W. Bradford and Dora L. Brooks lost.
In Leesburg, Va., Kristen C. Umstattd was elected mayor, defeating incumbent B.J. Webb. Incumbent City Council member Robert J. Zoldos won his re-election bid while Fernando J. Martinez and Melinda H. Kramer were newly elected. Incumbent Leonard McDonald Jr. was voted out of office.
Voters returned David F. Snyder, Daniel E. Gardner and Martha R. Meserve to the Falls Church City Council and added Samuel A. Mabry. Incumbent Steven A. Rogers was defeated.
Re-elected to the Falls Church School Board were Ruth R. Brock, Jay R. Grusin and Jerome T. Barrett. Kathryn A. Chandler was elected to a first term.
In Montgomery County, Garrett Park voters returned uncontested incumbents to offices. Mayor Nancy M. Floreen, and council members Peter Benjamin and Arthur Bennett were sworn in Monday.
Chevy Chase voters returned Mier Wolf and Bill Hudnut to the village council and elected Martha Covell to a first term.
In Prince George's County, Hyattsville voters elected Jon M. Lewis to fill a council seat vacated by Jeremiah Harrington, who resigned.
In Glenarden's special election, Verley Wilson won a seat on the town council.
Bradley Jewitt was elected mayor of Berwyn Heights and Patricia Dennison, Theresa Laughlin, Ronald Shane and Daithi Htun were elected to the council.
In University Park, John Brunner was elected mayor. Edward Maginnis won the Ward 1 council seat, Susan Wagner won the Ward 3 seat and Bradley Carpenter won the Ward 7 seat.
Voters in Capitol Heights elected Joyce A. Nixon as mayor. Council seats were won by Senora C. Ball, Bette J. Carroll, Evelyn D. Grimes, Darrell A. Miller, Amizi L. Springs and Ronald Williams.
Morningside voters elected David Hockenbrought to a first term on the council, and returned incumbent Karen Rooker to the council.
Andrew Hanko was elected mayor of New Carrollton. David Anderson and Michael Bance were elected to the council.
Voters in Salisbury, Md., appear to have returned incumbent Mayor Barrie Parsons Tilghman to her seat by 102 votes. Challenger Duke Shannahan is awaiting the counting of 221 absentee ballots. Election results will be certified tomorrow.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide