- The Washington Times - Thursday, May 9, 2002

BALTIMORE The 127th Preakness Stakes reshuffled its lineup and two leading riders yesterday.
Jockey Jerry Bailey will ride Medaglia d'Oro while Pat Day will be aboard Booklet in the second leg of the Triple Crown on May 18 at Pimlico Race Course. Bailey replaces Laffit Pincay, who conceded that he restrained the fourth-place finisher in the Kentucky Derby too long. Booklet didn't enter the Derby.
Trainer Bobby Frankel switched jockeys for Medaglia d'Oro after the colt rallied from eighth to fourth in the stretch. He was the only colt to make a major move in the final quarter-mile, and Frankel apparently felt Pincay committed a tactical error by waiting too long to unleash him.
Entering the Preakness indicates that Frankel expects Medaglia d'Oro to improve. Last year Frankel skipped the Preakness with Derby runner-up Aptitude. Medaglia d'Oro won't arrive until hours before the Preakness after being vanned from Belmont Park in Elmont, N.Y.
Bailey finished 12th in the Derby aboard Easy Grades, who won't enter the Preakness. Bailey was the nation's leading rider last year. He was tops in earnings ($19million) and stakes victories (44). Bailey has won two Preaknesses aboard Red Bullet (2000) and Hansel (1991).
Day has won five Preaknesses, second only to Eddie Arcaro's six. Day, who finished 11th in the Derby aboard Blue Burner, was the nation's third-leading rider last year.
Meanwhile, trainer Nick Zito's Crimson Hero and Straight Gin were the first Preakness starters to arrive. Most entrants aren't expected until Wednesday, but Zito's runners often spend one week acclimating to a new track.
"This is just the way we do it," Zito said. "[Trainers Bob] Baffert and [D. Wayne] Lukas come in later and have success, too, but we've still run the fastest Preakness ever doing it our way."
The Preakness field reached 15 when three colts were withdrawn and one was added. Request for Parole, Mayakovsky and Tails of the Crypt were declared, and Menacing Dennis was added. The maximum 14-horse field currently has Table Limit excluded, though the post position draw isn't until Wednesday.
Harlan's Holiday also could be entered. The Derby favorite finished seventh but could be the traditional "bounce" horse. Point Given (2001), Timber Country (1995), Prairie Bayou (1993) and Hansel (1991) won the Preakness after running poorly as Derby favorites.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide