- The Washington Times - Wednesday, November 3, 2004

U.S. Sen. Barbara A. Mikulski was declared the winner last night against Republican challenger E.J. Pipkin in the Maryland Senate race.

Miss Mikulski, a Democrat, won 64 percent of the vote with 33 percent of 1,787 precincts reporting.

“I want to thank the voters. Two years ago, they said Maryland was going in another direction,” Miss Mikulski said. “Well, Maryland has come back home to the Democratic Party. And it is going to stay there.”

The victory was expected since Democrats outnumber Republicans 2-to-1 in Maryland, which has about 3 million registered voters. Miss Mikulski, 68, will return to the Senate for a fourth term. Much of the challenge by Mr. Pipkin, 47, came from a big advertising campaign paid for with the millions he made as a Wall Street bond trader.

U.S. Rep. Chris Van Hollen, a Democrat, was declared the winner in the 8th District against challenger Chuck Floyd, a Republican.

With 52 percent of 175 precincts reporting, Mr. Van Hollen had won 75 percent of the vote.

“I think … that folks knew it was going to be a win for the congressman, but I think everyone is stunned by the margin. He definitely exceeded expectations,” said Mr. Van Hollen’s campaign manager Chuck Westover.

Mr. Van Hollen, 45, will serve a second term.

Mr. Floyd, 54, is a retired military officer.

The race was among the most personal, with Mr. Van Hollen accusing the Floyd campaign of buying Internet domains based on Mr. Van Hollen’s name, then using the sites to attack him.

Rep. Albert R. Wynn, a Democrat, was the declared the winner against John McKinnis in the 4th District.

Mr. Wynn, a Democrat, won 74 percent of the vote with 50 percent of 171 precincts reporting.

“I am certainly very excited and very appreciative of the support I have received, and I am looking forward to dealing with the unfinished business,” said Mr. Wynn, who was elected to Congress in 1992 and will be serving a seventh term.

In the 5th District, incumbent Rep. Steny H. Hoyer, a Democrat, was declared the winner against challenger Brad Jewitt, a Republican and former mayor of Berwyn Heights.

Mr. Hoyer won 70 percent of the vote over Mr. Jewitt, with 58 percent of 193 precincts reporting. Mr. Hoyer will serve his 12th term.

Rep. Wayne T. Gilchrest, a Republican, was declared the winner against Democratic challenger Kostas Alexakis in the 1st District, the state’s largest geographically.

Mr. Gilchrest won 77 percent of the vote with 54 percent of 272 precincts reporting.

Mr. Gilchrest, 58, is a former teacher who served as a U.S. Marine in the Vietnam War. He won his first term in 1991 and is best know for his interest in preserving the environment, which has earned him strong bipartisan support along the Eastern Shore.

Mr. Alexakis, 50, replaced Democratic nominee Ann Tamlyn who withdrew because of illness.

In the 2nd District, Rep. C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger, a Democrat, was declared the winner over Republican challenger Jane Brooks. Mr. Ruppersberger, 58, will be serving his second term. He won 61 percent of the votes with 30 percent of 208 precincts reporting. declared the winner against leading challenger Republican Tony Salazar, a bank attorney from Ellicott City and Virginia T. Rodino, a Green Party candidate.

Mr. Cummings, who is seeking his seeking fifth term, won 65 percent of the votes with 29 percent of 279 precincts reporting.

In Prince George’s County, Democrat Will Campos defeated Tommy Priestly in a special election for the District 2 seat on the County Council. Mr. Campos replaces Peter A. Shapiro, who resigned in July.

Residents voted roughly 71 percent-to-29 percent against adding two at-large members to the County Council, which would have increased the number from nine to 11.

Montgomery County residents elected three members to the Board of Education.

Board President Sharon W. Cox defeated Tomme Le for the at-large seat. Miss Cox won roughly 70 percent of the vote. Board member Walter Lange was defeated by Stephen Abrams in District 2. Mr. Abrams won roughly 53 percent of the vote.

Valerie Ervin defeated Sheldon Fishman in District 4. Miss Ervin won 59 percent of the vote.

Residents also voted 52 percent to 48 percent against term limits for the county executive and County Council.

This article is based in part on wire service reports

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide