- The Washington Times - Wednesday, November 3, 2004

Former D.C. Mayor Marion Barry made his political comeback official last night, handily defeating his Republican challenger to win a seat on the D.C. Council.

“I’ve been knocked down, I’ve been kicked down, I’ve been stepped on. But whatever it is, I got up,” Mr. Barry said last night in his victory speech.

Mr. Barry, 68, received 15,574 votes, or 95 percent, to return to the Ward 8 seat he last held in 1994. His Republican challenger, Cardell Shelton, 74, won 676 votes, or 4 percent.

A consultant for the investment banking firm M.R. Beal Inc., Mr. Barry has served four terms as mayor and is a former member of the council and the city school board. He spent six months in federal prison after a cocaine arrest in 1990.

The former mayor is expected to lead council opposition to building a baseball park in Southeast, joining forces with two new council members who — like Mr. Barry — defeated incumbents in the Democratic primary. Mr. Barry defeated Sandy Allen in September’s primary.

Political newcomer Kwame R. Brown, president of the Maryland/D.C. Minority Supplier Development Council, last night won an at-large seat on the council, collecting 128,606 votes, or 56 percent. Mr. Brown, 34, defeated Harold P. Brazil in the Democratic primary.

Vincent C. Gray, executive director of Covenant House Washington, bested Republican challenger Jerod Tolson and Statehood/Green Party candidate Michele Tingling-Clemmons to win the council’s Ward 7 seat. Mr. Gray, 61, received 19,006 votes, or 91 percent; Mr. Tolson, 32, won 369 votes, or 2 percent; and Mrs. Tingling-Clemmons, 53, received 935 votes, or 4 percent.

Mr. Gray defeated Kevin P. Chavous in September’s Democratic primary.

Another opponent of the Southeast baseball park — Democratic council member Adrian M. Fenty, 33 — ran unopposed to retain his Ward 4 seat.

Other incumbents easily fended off challenges last night.

Democratic council member Jack Evans, 50, won re-election to his fourth full term to his Ward 2 seat, garnering 14,121 votes, or 83 percent. Republican candidate Jesse James Price Sr. received 1,479 votes, or 9 percent; and Statehood/Green Party candidate Jay Houston Marx, 34, captured 1,353 votes, or 8 percent.

Republican council member Carol Schwartz, 60, won her fourth term to an at-large seat since 1984, receiving 71,862 votes, or 31 percent. Mrs. Schwartz and Mr. Brown defeated Statehood/Green Party candidate Laurent Ross, 50, who received 17,204 votes, or 7 percent; and independent candidate A.D. “Tony” Dominquez, 50, who won 11,936 votes, or 5 percent.

D.C. Delegate Eleanor Holmes Norton, a Democrat, trounced Republican opponent Michael Andrew Monroe to win her eighth term as the District’s nonvoting congressional representative. Mrs. Norton, 67, won 153,720 votes, or 92 percent; Mr. Monroe, 25, finished with 13,151 votes, or 8 percent.

Ray Browne, 65, was re-elected to his third term as “shadow” representative, an unpaid position regarded as the chief lobbyist for the District. Mr. Browne, a Democrat, received 129,570 votes, or 87 percent; Statehood/Green Party candidate Adam Eidinger won 18,816 votes, or 13 percent. Mr. Browne also defeated Mr. Eidinger in 2002.

The most dramatic contests yesterday were two nonpartisan races for seats on the D.C. Board of Education.

In District 1, which represents Wards 1 and 2, Jeff Smith defeated three other challengers to win the seat of Julie Mikuta, who abandoned her re-election plans in September citing “frustration” with the slow pace of school reforms.

Mr. Smith received 11,697 votes, or 39 percent; Keenan Keller won 9,829 votes, or 33 percent; Eleanor Johnson garnered 5,777 votes, or 19 percent; and Christopher McKeon finished with 2,224 votes, or 7 percent.

In District 2, which represents Wards 3 and 4, Victor Reinoso defeated six other candidates to win the seat held by Dwight E. Singleton.

Mr. Reinoso received 14,182 votes, or 31 percent; Mr. Singleton won 10,245 votes, or 22 percent; Laura McGiffert Slover garnered 8,587 votes, or 18 percent; Hugh Allen won 7,052 votes, or 15 percent; Mai Abdul Rahman garnered 3,358 votes, or 7 percent; Tom Dawson had 2,134 votes, or 5 percent; and David A. Jordan finished with 715 votes, or 2 percent.

Voter turnout in the District was 45 percent, with 173,065 ballots cast out of 387,773 registered voters.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide