- The Washington Times - Tuesday, September 21, 2004


A Senate panel yesterday approved the nomination of Rep. Porter J. Goss, Florida Republican, to head the CIA, overcoming Democrats’ objections that Mr. Goss was too political for the job.

In a closed meeting, the Senate Intelligence Committee voted 12-4, with three Democrats joining the committee’s nine Republicans in approving the nomination and one Democrat making no recommendation.

Mr. Goss’ nomination could go before the full Republican-led Senate as early as this week.

Sen. John D. Rockefeller IV of West Virginia, ranking Democrat on the committee, voted against Mr. Goss — President Bush’s choice to head the CIA — saying that while chairman of the House Intelligence Committee, Mr. Goss had “repeatedly used intelligence issues for partisan purposes.”

“While I appreciate his testimony and commitment to nonpartisanship if confirmed, I must vote on his record, not his promises,” Mr. Rockefeller said. “I sincerely hope that Porter Goss proves my vote wrong and becomes an independent and exceptional” CIA director.

Mr. Goss served as House intelligence panel chairman for nearly eight years. He would be only the second CIA director who served in Congress, after former president and House member George Bush.

Even before Mr. Bush nominated Mr. Goss in August, Democrats complained that Mr. Goss lacked the independence to lead the U.S. intelligence community.

Republican Senate intelligence panel Chairman Pat Roberts of Kansas said Monday that Mr. Goss is independent, nonpartisan and aggressive — and qualified for duty outside Congress.

“I am pleased the committee acted quickly and voted strongly in favor of the nomination of Porter Goss,” Mr. Roberts said after yesterday’s meeting. “His experience in both oversight and as an intelligence officer makes him uniquely qualified to lead the intelligence community as we debate its critical reforms.”

In addition to Mr. Rockefeller, Democrats who voted against the Goss nomination were Carl Levin of Michigan, Richard J. Durbin of Illinois and Ron Wyden of Oregon. Democrats voting for the nomination were Dianne Feinstein of California, Evan Bayh of Indiana and Barbara A. Mikulski of Maryland. John Edwards of North Carolina, the Democratic vice presidential nominee, made no recommendation.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide