- The Washington Times - Saturday, June 11, 2005

Curfew laws and driver’s license restrictions vary from state to state.

Curfews:

Curfew laws are set by local jurisdictions, such as counties and cities. Locally, the District and Prince George’s County have curfew laws.

These laws prohibit minors from loitering in public spaces during certain hours of the night. Minors can be exempted from the law if, for example, they are accompanied by an adult or are involved in school, religious or organized sports activities at the time.

• The curfew hours for teenagers 17 and younger in the District are 11 p.m. to 6 a.m. Sunday through Thursday and midnight to 6 a.m. Friday and Saturday during the school year, September through June. During the summer, July and August, the curfew hours are midnight to 6 a.m. daily.

Parents and legal guardians can be subject to a $500 fine or community service if their teen violates the curfew law. A minor who violates curfew can be ordered to perform up to 25 hours of community service.

• The curfew hours for teenagers 16 and younger in Prince George’s County are 10 p.m. to 5 a.m. Sunday through Thursday and midnight to 5 a.m. Friday and Saturday.

Parents or legal guardians can face up to $250 in fines if their teen violates the curfew law. The youth is not subject to any fines or other action.

Graduated licensing:

Many other cities and counties in the area have no curfew laws — including Montgomery, Anne Arundel, Arlington, Loudoun and Fairfax counties — but are covered by graduated driver licensing laws in effect in Maryland, Virginia and the District. Those laws say drivers who are 17 years old and younger can’t drive unsupervised during certain nighttime hours.

Teens who violate the nighttime restrictions can have their licenses suspended or revoked, or they may be prevented from getting their full license at age 18, instead being required to continue on a restricted license.

• In Virginia, the restricted driving hours are midnight to 4 a.m.

• In Maryland, the restricted driving hours are midnight to 5 a.m.

• In the District, the restricted hours follow the curfew-law hours, 11 p.m. to 6 a.m. Sunday through Thursday and midnight to 6 a.m. Friday and Saturday during the school year, September through June. During the summer, July and August, the restricted driving hours are midnight to 6 a.m. daily.

Sources: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety and local police departments


Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide