- The Washington Times - Thursday, June 16, 2005

The Washington Times won 20 awards in the 2005 Washington Dateline Awards for Excellence in Local Journalism, sponsored by the Society of Professional Journalists.

Times staffers won accolades for their coverage last year of breaking and general news, business, features, commentary, arts criticism, sports and photography. Twenty publications in Washington and surrounding counties competed, including The Washington Post and Washingtonian magazine.

Metro reporters Matthew Cella and Jim McElhatton won first place for investigative reporting for a series of articles uncovering the background of foreign investors intent on building a slot-machine emporium in Washington.

“We did some old-fashioned digging on this — court and financial records, legal documents. That’s what put it over the top, though it also provided a road map for print and broadcast coverage, which followed our story,” Mr. Cella said.

S.A. Miller and Arlo Wagner, also from the Metro desk, won first place in spot news for “Fire damages historic courthouse,” a story chronicling the destruction of a 123-year-old landmark in Prince George’s County.

Adrienne T. Washington was awarded first place in editorial/commentary, for her columns examining the complex and often emotionally charged business of bringing baseball back to Washington.

Jayne Blanchard won first place in arts criticism for “Sex-drenched ‘Streetcar,’” her take on the local treatment of a classic play.

Photographer Liz O. Baylen took first place in photojournalism for “A start in life,” a series of photos depicting young women on the cusp of adulthood.

The following Times staffers won second-place awards:

• Deborah Simmons, editorial/column/commentary, for “In faith and deed.”

• Patrice Hill, business/financial reporting, for “Inflation woes do not add up in index data.”

• Patrick Hruby, sports, for “‘Gay Disneyland’ is out at home.”

• Robyn-Denise Yourse, features, for “Feeding the spirit.”

• Jean Battey Lewis, arts criticism, for “Du Soleil shines on circus magic.”

• Maya Alleruzzo, photojournalism, for “Communities open hearts to hurt vets.”

The following Times writers won third-place awards:

• Tom Knott, editorial/column/commentary, for columns on eminent domain.

• Tom Ramstack, business/financial reporting, for “Low fares take off.”

• Mark Zuckerman, sports, for “A road too traveled.”

• Daniel Rosenbaum, photojournalism, for “Myth, truth about tonsils,”

• Stephen Goode, arts criticism, for “A vital Indian world.”

The following staffers also won honorable mention for their work:

• Deborah Simmons, editorial/commentary, for editorials on D.C. schools.

• Matthew Cella and Jim McElhatton, general news, for a series on the D.C. contracting office.

• Robyn-Denise Yourse, features, for “Jamie Foxx is ‘Ray.’”

• Scott Galupo, features, for “Calmer John Waters.”

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide