- The Washington Times - Sunday, May 1, 2005


About 46 million people in the European Union speak languages that are not majority tongues in

their countries — ranging from Swedish speakers in Finland to users of Sorbic, a Slavonic language spoken by 60,000 people, in eastern Germany.

Across the continent — including non-EU countries — more than 90 minority languages are spoken.

Some are majority languages in neighboring countries, such as French and Italian in Switzerland; German in France and Italy; Hungarian in Romania; and Russian in the Baltic states of Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia.

Others are languages without a national home. They include Basque and Galician in Spain; Breton in France; Sami in the Nordic countries and Russia; Gaelic, Irish and Welsh in Britain; and Romansch in Switzerland.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide