- The Washington Times - Sunday, September 25, 2005

LAKE MANASSAS, Va. — Retief Goosen said he was prepared to sit out one of yesterday’s sessions because he has been hitting the ball so poorly during the past two days.

But there’s little chance the world’s No.5 player sits out of anything today unless it’s a dance at the post-tournament party.

Goosen, who teamed with Australian Adam Scott for a 3-0-1 record during the first three days of the Presidents Cup, revealed he has a nagging rib injury that he suffered when a physiotherapist was working on his injured groin.

“A couple of times yesterday I hit it right in the middle of the lake,” Goosen said. “I’ve also been struggling a little bit with a sore rib. The physio was just working on me, and I think she bruised the rib while she was trying to stretch my side out there a little bit and dug in.”

The International team of Goosen and Scott rolled over previously unbeaten Texans Justin Leonard and Scott Verplank 5 and 4 in the afternoon four-ball matches.

Goosen and Scott birdied seven consecutive holes — Nos.4 through 10 — and finished 10 under par through 14 holes

“He’s solid, you know, and he’s a great putter, too,” Scott said of Goosen.

Dispute on No. 17

Tournament officials went to the rule book to settle a dispute during the morning foursomes.

On the par-4, 405-yard, No.17, American Stewart Cink hit a brilliant approach shot — 18 inches away from the pin. Canadian Mike Weir said “Good shot, Stewie” and Davis Love III, Cink’s playing partner, thought Weir said, “That’s good” and picked up Cink’s ball without marking it in the alternate shot format.

Love misinterpreted what Weir said and he thought the 2003 Masters champion conceded the birdie to the American duo.

Trevor Immelman, Weir’s playing partner, went so far as to tell American captain Jack Nicklaus that his team should lose the hole because Love picked up the ball. Nicklaus contended they should just put the ball back.

Nicklaus had a tough case because nobody knew exactly where the ball originally rested. According to Rule 2-4/3 in the USGA Rules of Golf, it’s just a one-stroke penalty for lifting a ball in match play.

Eventually, the Americans were asked to put the ball back without penalty. Once the Internationals birdied the hole, the hole was halved and the U.S. team was not even asked to putt.

Cink and Love closed out the Internationals on No.18 when they halved the hole and won the match 1-up.

Weir said he had simply wanted the Americans to make the putt if winning the hole was at stake.

“I don’t think they knew what was going on,” Weir said. “I think they thought I was trying to win the hole that way or something. That wasn’t the case at all. Just wanted to make sure we did the right thing. That’s why I looked at Trevor because I said, ‘Did you say it was good, because I didn’t.’”

DiMarco’s ace

Chris DiMarco’s ace yesterday on the par-3, 187-yard seventh hole is the shot of the tournament so far.

DiMarco’s hole-in-one during the morning foursomes marked the second hole-in-one in Presidents Cup history. In the nearly 80-year history of the Ryder Cup, there never has been a hole-in-one.

DiMarco used a 7-iron to record his fifth career hole-in-one on the PGA Tour. DiMarco carved a shot right to left, which bounced a couple of times on the green and ran 15 feet before finding into the cup.

“You could see it in the air like, OK, this is going to be good and you saw it bounce and you saw it roll,” DiMarco said. “It probably only took about 10 seconds.”

South African David Frost had the only other ace in the Presidents Cup. His also came here at Robert Trent Jones Golf Club in the 1994 Presidents Cup. Frost aced RTJ’s No.4 (currently No.2) with a 4-iron from 210 yards.

Tiger praises Appleby

Tiger Woods and Jim Furyk played the International duo of Vijay Singh and Stuart Appleby for 36 holes twice yesterday, halving the morning foursomes but winning the afternoon four-ball 2 up.

Afterward, Woods came away with an appreciation of Appleby’s putting prowess.

“We were paired up against Stewie all day today,” Woods said. “I don’t know if anybody has played better than this guy. He made three putts over 30 feet for par this morning, a couple this afternoon. It was just an unbelievable exhibition of putting all day.”

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide