- The Washington Times - Sunday, March 12, 2006

Snowe on Cyprus

The ambassador from Cyprus is praising Sen. Olympia J. Snowe for her remarks on the Senate floor last week when she endorsed a new proposal to end the division of the island.

“Cyprus greatly appreciates Senator Snowe’s continued support for the island’s reunification,” said Ambassador Euripides L. Evriviades.

“The government of Cyprus remains committed to a just solution to the Cyprus problem based on a bizonal, bicommunal federation in accordance with U.N. Security Council resolutions and the principles on which the European Union is founded.”

The Maine Republican called a proposal by Cypriot President Tassos Papadopoulos “a positive step toward the resumption of reunification negotiations.”

The Greek-Cypriot leader presented his proposal in a meeting in February with U.N. Secretary-General Kofi Annan. Greek-Cypriots rejected a reunification plan proposed by Mr. Annan two years ago, while Turkish-Cypriots overwhelmingly endorsed it. The European Union recently rewarded Turkish-Cypriots by approving $165 million in economic aid.

Mrs. Snowe noted the improving relations between Greek-Cypriots, whose government is internationally recognized and a member of the European Union, and residents of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, recognized by Turkey.

“On Cyprus today, the two communities are closer together than at any time since the invasion,” she said.

Mr. Papadopoulos proposed appointing a U.N. special envoy for Cyprus and “a number of cross-community confidence-building measures to strengthen the foundation for reunification,” Mrs. Snowe said.

Diplomatic traffic

Foreign visitors in Washington this week include:


• Mayor Franco Corbucci of Urbino, Italy; Palmiro Ucchielli, president of the province of Pesaro and Urbino; Giovanni Lani, president of the Urbino Press Award; and Piero and Giacomo Guidi, fashion designers and sponsors of the Urbino Press Award. They will attend the award ceremony at the Italian Embassy.

• Patrus Ananias de Sousa, Brazil’s minister of social development and hunger alleviation, who addresses the Inter-American Development Bank’s Forum on the Americas.


• Gov. Eduardo Bours Castelo of the Mexican state of Sonora, who attends the annual conference of the U.S.-Mexico Chamber of Commerce and participates in a panel discussion on security on the U.S.-Mexico border.


• A delegation from Northern Ireland’s Ulster Unionist Party with Reg Empey, party leader; David Campbell, chairman; Dennis Rogan, president; and Will Corry, chief executive officer.

• Peter Hain, Britain’s secretary of state for Northern Ireland; Duncan Morrow of the Northern Ireland Community Relations Council; and Michael Wardlow of the Northern Ireland Council for Integrated Education. They address the United States Institute of Peace.


• Irish Prime Minister Bertie Ahern, who meets President Bush on an annual St. Patrick’s Day trip to Washington.

• Foreign Minister Miodrag Vlahovic of Montenegro, who meets officials at the State Department and National Security Council and addresses the Center for Strategic and International Studies.

• Ghassan Moukheiber, a member of the Lebanese parliament, and retired Lebanese Gen. Fares Soufia. They attend the annual awards dinner of the American Task Force for Lebanon.


• Five representatives of the Northern Ireland Policing Board comprising Chairman Desmond Rea, Vice Chairman Denis Bradley and members Alex Attwood, Alan McFarland and Ian Paisley Jr. They hold a 2 p.m. press conference at the National Press Club.

Call Embassy Row at 202/636-3297, fax 202/832-7278 or e-mail jmorrison@washingtontimes.com.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide