- The Washington Times - Wednesday, May 10, 2006


Seven of the 71 players who came to the Washington Redskins’ rookie minicamp on a tryout basis last weekend were signed yesterday. The seven include Mississippi receiver Mike Espy, San Diego State offensive lineman Chris Pino, Southern defensive end Joe Sykes, defensive tackles Chris Mineo of UTEP and Vaka Manupuna of Colorado, Princeton linebacker Justin Stull and Southern Miss cornerback John Eubanks.

The Redskins also signed seven tryout players from last year’s rookie minicamp and six of them made it to training camp. Linebacker Zak Keasey and punter Andy Groom both played in the regular season, while offensive tackle Jon Alston and running back Jonathan Combs spent time on the practice squad. Alston and Combs remain on the roster.

Since the Redskins only had three roster spots open, they had to cut four players to make room for the newcomers. Jashon Sykes, who started at nine games at strong side linebacker for Denver in 2003, was let go as was linebacker Nick McNeil, who finished last season on Washington’s practice squad, former NFL Europe defensive end Sean Guthrie and former Chiefs defensive back LaShaun Ward.

David Elfin

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide