- The Washington Times - Wednesday, November 8, 2006

Adrian M. Fenty was elected D.C. mayor yesterday, becoming the youngest and the first native-born chief executive in the city’s history.

With 139 of 142 precincts reporting, Mr. Fenty, 35, had 98,740 votes, or 89 percent. Real estate agent Dave Kranich, 34, a Republican, had 6,744 votes, or 6 percent, and community activist Chris Otten, 31, of the Statehood-Green Party, had 4,554 votes, or 4 percent.

“On Sept. 12, I said, ‘You did it.’ Well, you did it again,” Mr. Fenty told a crowd of a few hundred supporters gathered under a tent outside his campaign headquarters on Florida Avenue Northwest last night. The site was the same location where Mr. Fenty and his supporters celebrated his Democratic primary win less than two months ago.

In addition, D.C. Council member Vincent C. Gray made his victory official in his unopposed bid to succeed Linda W. Cropp as council chairman.

Mrs. Cropp lost the mayoral primary in September to Mr. Fenty, and Mr. Gray, who won the Ward 7 council seat in 2004, defeated council member Kathy Patterson of Ward 3 in the Democratic primary for the chairmanship. Mr. Gray, 63, won 99,068 votes, or 98 percent, yesterday.

The election results presented few surprises. In a city where 74 percent of voters are registered Democrats, winners of the primary election are virtually assured of victory in the general election.

Voter turnout in the District was 28 percent, with 112,780 ballots cast out of 395,928 registered voters.

In other council races, two-term incumbents Phil Mendelson, a Democrat, and David A. Catania, an independent, held their at-large seats. Mr. Mendelson, 54, had 83,673 votes, or 51 percent. Mr. Catania, 38, had 54,102 votes, or 33 percent. Ann Wilcox, 51, who represented the Statehood-Green Party, had 11,444 votes, or 7 percent. Tony Dominguez, 52, an independent, took 8,083 votes, or 5 percent. Marcus Skelton, 26, a Republican, won 7,325 votes, or 4 percent.

D.C. law requires that two of the council’s four at-large seats be held by the non-majority party.

Council member Jim Graham, a Democrat, ran unopposed for the Ward 1 seat he has held since 1999. Mr. Graham, 61, took 10,786 votes, or 97 percent.

George Washington University law professor Mary M. Cheh, a Democrat, defeated Georgetown Visitation teacher Theresa Conroy, a Republican, in the race for the Ward 3 council seat being vacated by Mrs. Patterson. Mrs. Cheh, 56, won 12,991 votes, or 71 percent. Mrs. Conroy, 54, received 5,077 votes, or 28 percent.

“I think my victory, I’m very proud of it because it shows that negative campaigning doesn’t work in Ward 3,” Mrs. Cheh said, adding that she wishes she could “go to work tomorrow.”

Harry Thomas Jr., a Democrat, won the Ward 5 council seat his father held for three terms until 1998. The seat was vacated by council member Vincent B. Orange, who unsuccessfully ran for the Democratic mayoral nomination. Mr. Thomas, 46, received 12,119 votes, or 85 percent. Carolyn C. Steptoe, 47, representing the Statehood-Green Party, got 1,169 votes, or 8 percent. Miriam Moore, 42, an independent, received 590 votes, or 4 percent. Tontalya T. Terceiro Wright, an independent, won 232 votes, or 2 percent.

Former school board member Tommy Wells won the race to replace retiring council member Sharon Ambrose in Ward 6. Mr. Wells, 49, received 8,992 votes, or 62 percent. He defeated Will Cobb, 35, an independent, who received 3,908 votes, or 27 percent; and Antonio Williams, 26, a Republican, who got 1,564 votes, or 11 percent.

Eleanor Holmes Norton, a 69-year-old Democrat, won 103,241 votes, or 97 percent, in her unopposed bid for a ninth term as the District’s non-voting congressional representative.

The city’s new mayor and council members will be sworn in Jan. 2.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide